• Saturday, Feb 04, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Squad finalized for Afghanistan clash

  • Published at 03:04 pm August 31st, 2019
Action from the practice match between Bangladesh and the national U-19 team in Dhaka Saturday BFF

The national team trained in the last couple of days at the turf of Kamalapur Stadium due to the two-day long National Summer Athletics at Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka

Bangladesh head coach Jamie Day has finalized the 23-man squad ahead of their opening second-round World Cup and Asian Cup joint qualification match against Afghanistan on September 10 as the team are all set to leave here for Tajikistan’s capital Dushanbe Sunday.

The national team earlier began their first phase of preparation camp in Dhaka on August 23 with 26 players from the preliminary squad from which, three players – goalkeeper Mazharul Islam Hemel, defenders Nurul Naim Faisal and Manjurur Rahman Manik – couldn’t make it to the travelling squad.

“Everyone has worked extremely hard over the last seven days and the players not making the squad will be disappointed but I have selected a squad that I think is best suited to get a positive result in Tajikistan against Afghanistan,” explained Day.

After the AFC Cup campaign, seven national players of Abahani Limited landed in Dhaka Friday night after around 30 hours of journey from North Korea and will have little time to rest before packing the bags again for Tajikistan.

Day said, “I guess they are tired and until we see them I won’t know the full condition. None of them have reported an injury from the game which is good.”

The national team trained in the last couple of days at the turf of Kamalapur Stadium due to the two-day long National Summer Athletics at Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.

The team played a practice match against the national U-19 side Saturday, winning 3-1 with Mohammad Ibrahim, Manik and Sushanta Tripura scoring one each for the victorious side.


Goalkeepers: Ashraful Islam Rana, Shahidul Alam Sohel and Anisur Rahman Zico

Defenders: Bishwanath Ghosh, Tutul Hossain Badshah, Sushanta Tripura, Rahmat Mia, Yeasin Khan, Riyadul Hasan and Yeasin Arafat

Midfielders: Masuk Mia Jony, Jamal Bhuiyan, Mamunul Islam, Sohel Rana, Robiul Hasan, Biplu Ahmed, Arifur Rahman, Mohammad Ibrahim and Jewel Rana

Forwards: Nabib Newaj Jibon, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil, Matin Mia and Saad Uddin

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail