• Saturday, Dec 03, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Shakib stars but Barbados fall short by one run

  • Published at 04:55 am September 29th, 2019
Barbados Tridents' Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib al Hasan in action at the CPL CPL T20

Barbados Tridents will take on St Lucia Zouks in a winner-takes-all clash early Monday morning at 4am, Bangladesh standard time

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib al Hasan starred with both bat and ball, that too in his very first game for Barbados Tridents in the Caribbean Premier League T20 2019, but it was Saint Kitts and Nevis Patriots who had the last laugh Saturday night in Bridgetown.

The Tigers Test and T20I captain came into the playing XI in place of Roshon Primus and put in an all-round show to take Barbados on the verge of victory.

However, St Kitts and Nevis just about held their nerve as they pipped Barbados by only one run.

Batting first, St Kitts and Nevis posted 149 losing seven wickets in their stipulated 20 overs with Shakib leading the way, taking one wicket conceding just 14 runs in his quota of four overs, including a maiden.

The 32-year old came on to bowl the very first over, which was a maiden, before leaking just four runs in the third over of the innings.

The left-arm spinner gave away only six runs in the ninth over of the innings before bowling his last six deliveries in the 17th over where he conceded just four runs and bagged the important wicket of Patriots captain Carlos Brathwaite, who was trapped in front.

In reply, the Tridents were all out for 148 in their allotted 20 overs, Shakib again leading from the front with the highest 38 for his side.

The left-handed batsman faced 25 deliveries in his innings and struck three fours and a six.

The southpaw fell 12 short of his 20th T20 half-century when he was caught by Shamarh Brooks off the bowling of Brathwaite.

In the process, St Kitts and Nevis qualified for the playoffs, alongside Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders.

Barbados will take on St Lucia Zouks in a winner-takes-all clash early Monday morning at 4am, Bangladesh standard time.

The winner will go through to the playoffs while the loser will join Jamaica Tallawahs as the eliminated sides of the tournament.

Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das’ Jamaica will lock horns with table-topper Guyana early Friday morning at 4am, BST.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail