• Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Arafat, Al Amin recalled for India T20Is

  • Published at 02:01 pm October 17th, 2019
Al Amin Hossain and Arafat Sunny Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The three T20Is will be held on November 3, 7 and 10 in Delhi, Rajkot and Nagpur respectively

The Bangladesh Cricket Board Thursday recalled spinner Arafat Sunny and pacer Al Amin Hossain for the three-match T20I series against India, scheduled for next month.

Both Arafat and Al Amin returned to the T20I side after three years in the wilderness with their last appearance in the shortest format coming at the 2016 World T20I in India. 

Left-arm spinner Arafat has taken 12 wickets in 10 T20Is while right-arm seamer Al Amin has bagged 39 wickets in 23 T20Is.

Alongside the two, opening batsmen Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar also scripted returns to the T20I set-up.

Tamim took a sabbatical after the World Cup 2019 in England and Wales where he had a disappointing outing.

He missed the tri-nation T20I series at home against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe.

Soumya meanwhile, dropped midway through the tri-series against the Afghans and the Zimbabweans for poor form, gets another chance to impress against the Indians.

The quartet came into the side in place of batsmen Sabbir Rahman and Nazmul Hossain Shanto, spinner Taijul Islam and paceman Rubel Hossain.

The right-handed Sabbir has not been in the best of form of late and was dropped for his unimpressive performances in the tri-series.

Youngster Shanto was also axed from the side after failing to make the most of his opportunity in the tri-series, making only five and 11 in two outings.

This omission will perhaps not go down well with Shanto, who has now been dropped for the second time in the last 12 months.

All-rounder Shakib al Hasan will lead the side after clinching the Caribbean Premier League T20 title recently with Barbados Tridents. 

Leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob retained his place in the side after an impressive start to his international career, while opener Naim Sheikh was also named in the side.

The three T20Is will be held on November 3, 7 and 10 in Delhi, Rajkot and Nagpur respectively.

Bangladesh and India will also play a two-match Test series after the T20Is.

The first Test will be held at Holkar Stadium in Indore from November 14-18 while the second and final Test will take place at Eden Gardens in Kolkata from November 22-26.


Shakib al Hasan (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Saifuddin, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Shafiul Islam

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail