• Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Tigers reach Delhi

  • Published at 07:43 pm October 30th, 2019
Shafiul Islam and Soumya Sarkar react after arriving in Delhi Wednesday

The Shakib al Hasan issue must have taken a heavy toll on the cricketers and it was evident on their faces when they arrived at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka

After a lot of drama and controversies in the last couple of days, Bangladesh cricket team reached Delhi Wednesday evening, ahead of their much-anticipated series against India, comprising two Test matches and three T20Is.

The drama started unfolding last week through the players’ strike, following which the Bangladesh Cricket Board accepted the majority of the cricketers’ 13-point demands.

However, this was not all as Bangladesh cricket was rocked Tuesday after it was revealed that Test and T20I captain Shakib al Hasan failed to report multiple corrupt approaches by a listed bookie. 

The ace all-rounder was later slammed with a two-year ban by the ICC, with one year of that suspended.

The Shakib issue must have taken a heavy toll on the cricketers and it was evident on their faces when they arrived at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka.

Alongside Shakib, opening batsman Tamim Iqbal and all-rounder Saifuddin is also missing from the touring party due to personal reason and injury respectively.

Owing to the last minute change, the BCB national selection panel had to announce the squad a second time as they had to name the replacements.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam came in place of Shakib, batsman Mohammad Mithun replaced Tamim while Saifuddin made way for left-arm seamer Abu Haider Rony.

In Shakib’s absence, all-rounder Mahmudullah will lead the T20I side while top-order batsman Mominul Haque will captain the Test team.

This will be the first time the Tigers will take on the Indians at their backyard in a full-fledged series ever since getting the Test status back in 2000.

The three T20Is will be held on November 3, 7 and 10 in Delhi, Rajkot and Nagpur respectively.

The two Test matches will take place from November 14-18 and November 22-26 in Indore and Kolkata accordingly.

Bangladesh T20I squad

Mahmudullah (C), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naeem Sheikh, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Abu Haider, Al Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam and Shafiul Islam

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail