• Thursday, Mar 23, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Jayed removes Pujara, Kohli early

  • Published at 01:09 pm November 15th, 2019
Bangladesh's Abu Jayed bowls AFP

Virat Kohli was gone facing just two deliveries and at that moment, Bangladesh were hoping to turn the tables in their favor after removing the India skipper so early

Bangladesh pacer Abu Jayed bowled an impressive spell in the first hour of play on day two, and took two important wickets to give the Tigers some hope. 

India started the day on 86 for the loss of one wicket in 26 overs and Pujara was the first batsman who got out. 

Pujara actually got a life in the second over of the day when he slashed hard at a delivery outside off and Mehedi Hasan Miraz dropped a sharp chance at gully. 

Miraz felt some pain in his finger after dropping the catch and substitute Saif Hasan came to the field in his place. 

Pujara provided another opportunity in Jayed’s next over and this time around, Saif took a good catch diving to his left in the gully region. 

Jayed struck again in his next over as he bagged the important wicket of Virat Kohli by trapping him in front. 

It was a sharp in-swinging delivery from Jayed and Kohli failed to put bat to ball. 

Umpire signaled not out but Bangladesh went for a review. 

The TV replays showed the ball would have hit the stumps. 

Kohli was gone facing just two deliveries and at that moment, Bangladesh were hoping to turn the tables in their favor after removing the India skipper so early.



Shadman c Saha b Ishant    6    24

Imrul c Rahane b Yadav        6    18

Mominul b Ashwin        37    80

Mithun lbw b Shami        13    36

Mushfiq b Shami        43    105

Mahmudullah b Ashwin        10    30

Liton c Kohli b Ishant        21    31

Miraz lbw b Shami         0    1

Taijul run out (Jadeja/Saha)    1    7

Jayed not out            7    14

Ebadat b Yadav            2    5

Extras (lb3, w1)            4

Total (58.3 overs)        150

Fall Of Wickets

1-12 (Imrul), 2-12 (Shadman), 3-31 (Mithun), 4-99 (Mominul), 5-115 (Mahmudullah), 6-140 (Mushfiq), 7-140 (Miraz), 8-140 (Liton), 9-148 (Taijul), 10-150 (Ebadat)

Bowling: Ishant 12-6-20-2, Yadav 14.3-3-47-2, Shami 13-5-27-3 (w1), Ashwin 16-1-43-2, Jadeja 3-0-10-0


Agarwal c Jayed b Miraz                243    330

Rohit c Liton b Jayed        6    14

Pujara c sub (Saif) b Jayed            54    72

Kohli lbw b Jayed                0    2

Rahane c Taijul b Jayed                86    172

Jadeja not out                    60    76

Saha b Ebadat                    12    11

Yadav not out                    25    10

Extras (lb1, nb3, w3)                7

Total (114 overs)                493/6

Fall Of Wicket

1-14 (Rohit), 2-105 (Pujara), 3-119 (Kohli), 4-309 (Rahane), 5-432 (Agarwal), 6-454 (Saha)

Bowling: Ebadat 31-5-115-1 (w3), Jayed 25-3-108-4 (nb3), Taijul 28-4-120-0, Mehidy 27-0-125-1, Mahmudullah 3-0-24-0

India lead by 343 runs

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail