• Tuesday, May 24, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Shanto to lead U23s in SAG

  • Published at 12:05 am November 30th, 2019
Bangladesh's Nazmul Hossain Shanto plays a shot Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Bangladesh women’s cricket team have already reached Kathmandu, while the men’s side will reach the Nepali capital Sunday

Left-handed batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto was named captain as the Bangladesh Cricket Board Friday announced a star-studded 15-member U-23 national squad for the 13th edition of the South Asian Games, scheduled to be held in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The squad features four players – Shanto, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim and Afif Hossain - who have made their debuts in international cricket.

Like football, cricket also allows only three players aged over 23 and Soumya, left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam and right-handed batsman Yasir Ali have been selected in this regard. 

Young batsman Saif Hasan, who was all set for his Test debut against India recently only to be ruled out later due to injury, was also included in the squad.

Men’s cricket has been included in the SAG after 10 years while women’s cricket has been added to the roster for the first time in history.

Bangladesh women’s cricket team have already reached Kathmandu, while the men’s side will reach the Nepali capital Sunday.

Both the men’s and women’s events will be held in accordance with the T20 format.

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will be deploying their U-23 sides while Bhutan, Maldives and host Nepal will be playing their national teams.

Eternal rivals India and Pakistan will not participate in the cricket competition of this edition.

All the five men’s teams will take on each other once in the round robin league.

The junior Tigers will lock horns with Maldives Wednesday before facing Bhutan two days later.

Bangladesh will then face off against Nepal and Sri Lanka on December 7 and 8 respectively.

The top two teams will qualify for the final, slated for December 9, while the bronze-medal match will be held on the same day.


Nazmul Hossain Shanto (C), Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Saif Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Yasir Ali, Tanvir Islam, Manik Khan, Mahedi Hasan, Mehedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Sumon Khan and Mahidul Islam Ankon

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail