• Sunday, Aug 14, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Dhaka no match for clinical Rajshahi

  • Published at 09:21 pm December 12th, 2019
Rajshahi Royals' Hazratullah Zazai plays down the ground during their BBPL match against Dhaka Platoon in Mirpur Thursday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

All eyes were on Dhaka team, especially Mashrafe bin Mortaza and Tamim Iqbal, who both returned to competitive cricket after a long break with this game

Star studded Dhaka Platoon made a losing start to their Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 campaign as they were defeated comprehensively by nine wickets by Rajshahi Royals in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Thursday.

All eyes were on Dhaka team, especially Mashrafe bin Mortaza and Tamim Iqbal, who both returned to competitive cricket after a long break with this game. 

But both the superstars failed to produce a “dream comeback” and made little impact on the game. 

Opener Tamim scored just five runs while paceman Mashrafe bowled three overs and conceded 18 runs without any wickets.

Rajshahi captain Andre Russell elected to filed first as Tamim went back to the pavilion after playing only four deliveries. 

Controlled bowling and sharp fielding in the middle overs saw Rajshahi restrict Dhaka to only 134 for the loss of nine wickets in their stipulated 20 overs.

Opener Anamul Haque top-scored for Dhaka with 38 off 33 deliveries with one four and two sixes.

Right-arm seamer Abu Jayed took two wickets for Rajshahi.

Dhaka's Mashrafe bin Mortaza attempts to go big Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

In reply, Rajshahi cruised to victory with 10 balls to spare. 

Openers Liton Das and Hazratullah Zazai formed a 62-run partnership before Liton got out scoring 39 off 27 deliveries with four fours and two sixes.

Zazai was unbeaten until the end on 56 off 47 balls with five fours and three sixes. 

Pakistani batsman Shoaib Malik was the other not out batsman on a run-a-ball 36-run innings.

Rajshahi’s Ravi Bopara was adjudged man of the match as he was involved in three run outs, while he also took the important wicket of former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi with his medium-pace bowling.

Afridi departed without troubling the scorers and reached an unwanted milestone.

This is Afridi’s 100th duck in competitive cricket across all formats.



Tamim c Afif b Jayed        5    4

Anamul c Minhajul b Kapali    38    33

Evans c Kapali b Reza        13    14

Jaker run out (Bopara/Liton)    21    19

Perera c Russell b Taijul         1    3

Ariful run out (Bopara)        5    11

Afridi c Liton b Bopara        0    1

Mahedi run out (Taijul/Bopara)    6    14

Wahab c Malik b Jayed        19    12

Mashrafe not out        18    10

Mahmud not out        0    0

Extras (lb 1, nb 1, w 6)        8 

Total (20 Overs)            134/9 

Fall Of Wickets

1-15 (Tamim), 2-39 (Evans), 3-78 (Jaker), 4-80 (Perera), 5-80 (Anamul), 6-83 (Afridi), 7-91 (Ariful), 8-103 (Mahedi), 9-126 (Wahab)


Russell 3-0-8-0, Jayed 4-0-43-2, Taijul 3-0-23-1, Reza 2-0-14-1, Kapali 4-0-18-1, Minhajul 1-0-12-0, Bopara 3-0-15-1


Zazai not out            56    47

Liton c Ariful b Mahedi         39    27

Malik not out            36    36

Extras (lb 3, w 2)        5 

Total (18.2 Overs)        136/1 

Fall Of Wicket

1-62 (Liton)


Mashrafe 3-0-18-0, Mahmud 4-0-35-0, Mahedi 4-0-23-1, Wahab 3.2-0-26-0, Afridi 3-0-25-0, Perera 1-0-6-0

Rajshahi Royals won by nine wickets 

MoM: Ravi Bopara (RR)