• Saturday, Dec 10, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Royals win two in a row

  • Published at 03:01 pm December 13th, 2019
Sylhet Thunder's Johnson Charles is cleaned up during their BBPL match against Rajshahi Royals in Mirpur Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Chasing a low target of 92, Rajshahi reached their destination within just 10.5 overs

Rajshahi Royals registered their second win in a row, once again in convincing style, as they defeated Sylhet Thunder by eight wickets in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Friday.

Chasing a low target of 92, Rajshahi reached their destination within just 10.5 overs.

Rajshahi opener Liton Kumar Das led the way with an impressive 44-run innings off just 26 deliveries with seven boundaries, while No 3 batsman Afif Hossain scored 30.

Earlier, Sylhet were bundled out for only 91 in 15.3 overs. 

Rajshahi fielders were sharp and bowlers bowled economically to restrict Sylhet. 

Rajshahi's Alok Kapali bowls Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

But actually it was a poor batting performance from Sylhet as they failed to repeat their first match performance where they put up a good total on the board.

Five batsmen reached double figure but none could score big.

Rajshahi leg-spinner Alok Kapali took three wickets, while medium pacers Ravi Bopara and Farhad Reza bagged two each.

Kapali was adjudged man of the match for his 3/17 from three overs.  

Sylhet have now lost both their matches so far.



Rony lbw b Russell        19    17

Charles b Kapali            16    10

Mithun c Zazai b Bopara        20    18

Jeevan b Kapali            0    1

Mosaddek (c) c Liton b Bopara    20    21

Milon c Russell b Farhad     10    13

Nayeem c Liton b Farhad     1    3

Naveen run out (Bopara)    2    6

Santokie run out (Russell/Liton)    0    1

Nazmul c Zazai b Kapali        0    1

Ebadat not out            1    2

Extras (lb 1, w 1)        2 

Total                91 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-35 (Rony), 2-41 (Charles), 3-41 (Jeevan), 4-72 (Mithun), 5-81 (Mosaddek), 6-87 (Milon), 7-87 (Nayeem), 8-87 (Santokie), 9-89 (Nazmul), 10-91 (Naveen)


Russell 3.3-0-25-1, Taijul Islam 2-0-15-0, Abu Jayed 2-0-14-0, Alok Kapali    3-0-17-3, RS Bopara 3-0-10-2, Farhad Reza 2-0-9-2


Zazai b Nayeem            0    3        

Liton not out            44    26

Afif c Mosaddek b Naveen    30    25

Malik not out            16    11

Extras (b 4, w 1)            5

Total (10.5 Overs)        95/2    

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Zazai), 2-62 (Afif)


Nayeem 3-1-16-1, Ebadat 2-0-20-0, Santokie 1-0-15-0, Naveen 2-0-19-1, Jeevan 2-0-14-0, Milon 0.5-0-7-0    

Rajshahi Royals won by eight wickets

MoM: Alok Kapali (RR)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail