• Monday, Oct 03, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Malan, locals propel Cumilla

  • Published at 04:14 pm December 18th, 2019
Rangpur Rangers' Mohammad Nabi is cleaned up during their BBPL match against Cumilla Warriors in Chittagong Wednesday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

A team effort saw Cumilla bag their second win of the season in three matches after a six-wicket victory against Rangpur at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

The special edition of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 was termed important for the Bangladesh cricketers. 

The Bangladesh Cricket Board national selection panel had its eyes wide open on the performance of the local cricketers in order to set the track for the World T20I next year in Australia. 

Wednesday, members of the national selection surely had their attention on the game between Cumilla Warriors and Rangpur Rangers. 

A team effort saw Cumilla bag their second win of the season in three matches after a six-wicket victory against Rangpur at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

And the action down in the middle must have been a pleasure for the Bangladesh national think tank as Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman rose to the occasion for Cumilla in pursuit of 182 runs. 

Both Soumya and Sabbir played crucial roles, scoring 40-odd each chasing the big target, and were well supported by English batsman Dawid Malan and some quick-hitting at the top by opener Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Left-handed batsman Soumya was promoted to open and he made the best use of the opportunity, adding 41 off 34 balls after a positive first wicket stand with Rajapaksa. 

The duo added 61 in six overs for the opening stand before Rajapaksa perished to captain Mohammad Nabi for a 15-ball 32.

Soumya was then joined by Sabbir, who was due some runs after failing in the first two matches. 

The duo fired in unison adding 29 quickfire runs for the second wicket. 

Right-arm seamer Mukidul Islam removed Soumya to leave Cumilla reeling on 90 for the loss of two wickets in 11.1 overs. 

Sabbir had started slow but soon recovered and stitched together 56 with Malan for the third wicket. 

Sabbir soon ran out of luck, getting dismissed for 49 off 40 deliveries from an ambitious shot that was driven from the need of maintaining the required run rate.

Malan remained unbeaten on a 24 ball 42 as Cumilla cruised to the shore after Dasun Shanaka added a quick 12 off seven balls.

A dejected Rangpur walked out of the field after their third loss in as many attempts saw them languishing at the bottom of the seven-team standing with zero points from three games.

Earlier, batting first, wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad got Rangpur off to a sizzling start with 61 coming off just 27 balls with seven boundaries and four over boundaries, while Nabi and Somerset’s Tom Abell added 26 and 25 respectively as the Rangers posted a competitive total.

Young opener Mohammad Naim had come into the game after a half-century in the previous fixture. 

However, the left-handed batsman could not hold onto the momentum, adding just eight to the board, while left-arm Mustafizur Rahman also remained below-par for Rangpur later in the game, picking up a wicket conceding 35 runs in his quota of four overs.



Shahzad c Shanaka b Sanjamul    61    27

Naim run out (Sabbir)        8    10

Abell c Al-Amin b Soumya    25    25

Al-Amin run out (Haider)    1    4

Nabi b Mujeeb            26    20

Gregory c Sabbir b Al-Amin    21    12

Nadif run out (Al-Amin/Mahidul)15    11

Jahurul b Mujeeb        0    1

Arafat not out            15    10

Mustafizur not out        1    1

Extras (lb 2, nb 1, w 5)        8 

Total (19.4 Overs)        181/8 

Fall Of Wickets

 1-49 (Naim), 2-86 (Shahzad), 3-87 (Al-Amin), 4-113 (Abell), 5-134 (Nabi), 6-150 (Gregory), 7-150 (Jahurul), 8-180 (Nadif)


Mujeeb 4-0-25-2, Haider 4-0-39-0, Sanjamul 4-0-38-1, Al-Amin 4-0-45-1, Shanaka 2-0-16-0, Soumya 2-0-16-1    


Rajapaksa c Nadif b Nabi    32    15

Soumya c Nabi b Mukidul    41    34

Sabbir c Naim b Mustafizur    49    40

Malan not out            42    24

Shanaka c Mukidul b Abell    12    7

Yasir not out            0    0

Extras (lb 3, nb 2, w 1)        6

Total (19.4 Overs)        182/4    

Fall Of Wickets

1-61 (Rajapaksa), 2-90 (Soumya), 3-146 (Sabbir), 4-178 (Shanaka)


Al-Amin     1-0-17-0, Nabi 4-0-25-1, Mukidul 4-0-26-1, Gregory 4-0-55-0, Mustafizur 4-0-35-1, Abell 2.4-0-21-1

Cumilla Warriors won by six wickets

MoM: Dawid Malan (CW)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail