• Saturday, Jun 10, 2023
  • Last Update : 06:33 pm

Chattogram still top after beating Dhaka

  • Published at 08:21 pm December 27th, 2019
Dhaka Platoon's Tamim Iqbal is stumped during their BBPL match against Chattogram Challengers in Dhaka Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Five Dhaka batsmen were dismissed for single digit score in the face of some disciplined bowling by Chattogram

Chattogram Challengers maintained their place at the summit of the seven-team points table after beating Dhaka Platoon by six wickets in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Friday.

Asked to bat first, Dhaka posted a moderate 124 losing nine wickets in their stipulated 20 overs, Mominul Haque top-scoring with 32 off 34 balls.

Five Dhaka batsmen were dismissed for single digit score in the face of some disciplined bowling by Chattogram.

Dhaka’s Tamim Iqbal and Wahab Riaz chipped in with 21 and 23 respectively.

Chattogram’s Muktar Ali and Ryan Burl bagged two wickets apiece while Liam Plunkett and Nasum Ahmed took one each.

Dhaka's Anamul Haque reacts after being caught short of the crease Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

In reply, the port city outfit reached their destination in 18.4 overs, Imrul Kayes remaining unbeaten on 54 off 53 balls, featuring five fours and a couple of sixes.

Chadwick Walton made 25 as Chattogram did not face that many obstacles whilst chasing their target.

Dhaka’s Wahab Riaz picked up two wickets while Mashrafe bin Mortaza and Mahedi Hasan took one each.

The Challengers now have 12 points from eight matches, including six wins, while Platoon have eight points from seven games.



Tamim st Nurul b Nasum    21    27

Anamul run out (Walton)    14    13

Mahedi c Nurul b Plunkett    0    2

Mominul run out (Walton)    32    34

Jaker st Nurul b Burl        3    5

Afridi c Muktar b Burl        0    2

Shadab c & b Muktar        0    1

Perera c Walton b Muktar     6    9

Wahab run out (Simmons)    23    15

Mashrafe not out        17    12

Extras (lb 1, w 7)        8

Total (20 overs)            124/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-32 (Anamul), 2-32 (Mahedi), 3-50 (Tamim), 4-59 (Jaker), 5-59 (Afridi), 6-60 (Shadab), 7-68 (Perera), 8-93 (Mominul), 9-124 (Wahab)


Rubel 3-0-27-0, Nasum 4-0-21-1    , Rana 4-0-26-0, Plunkett 4-0-30-1, Muktar 4-0-18-2, Burl 1-0-1-2    


Simmons c Anamul b Mashrafe        15    12

Junaid c Shadab b Mahedi        8    9

Imrul not out                54    53

Walton c Afridi b Wahab        25    16

Burl b Wahab                13    16

Nurul not out                5    6

Extras (lb 3, w 2)            6

Total (18.4 Overs)            125/4    

Fall Of Wickets

1-25 (Simmons), 2-25 (Junaid), 3-66 (Walton), 4-100 (Burl)


Mashrafe 4-0-14-1, Mahedi 4-0-23-1, Perera 1-0-18-0, Shadab 2-0-20-0, Wahab 3.4-0-18-2, Hasan 2-0-18-0, Afridi 2-0-11-0 

Chattagram Challengers won by six wickets

MoM: Imrul kayes (CC)