• Wednesday, Sep 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Royals coast to victory against Sylhet

  • Published at 04:36 pm January 4th, 2020
Abdul Mazid
Sylhet opener Abdul Mazid plays a shot in the match against Rajshahi Royals at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday; January 4, 2020 Md Manik/Dhaka Tribune

Sylhet were looking steady at one point with Mithun and Rutherford at the crease

The Rajshahi Royals have registered a comprehensive victory over Sylhet Thunder, beating the home side by six wickets in the Bangabandhu Premier League T20 match between the sides at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Sylhet won the toss and elected to bat first, but only managed to post 143/6 in their stipulated 20 overs. 

Openers Andre Fletcher (25 runs off 33 balls) and Abdul Mazid (16 off 11) gave Sylhet a decent start, while Mohammad Mithun top scored for the side with 47 off 38 deliveries. Sherfane Rutherford also chipped in with a quick fire 25 off 11 balls, but the other batsmen never got a hold of the Royals bowlers as the innings petered out.

Sylhet were looking steady at one point with Mithun and Rutherford at the crease, but never recovered after confusion between the two led the former to being run out. Royals leg-spinner Alok Kapali then tightened the screws further, giving away 14 runs but picking up two wickets in his only over. 

Chasing the total, the Royals never looked in danger of losing the match. Opener Afif Hossain led the way with a score of 46 off 30 balls, while his opening partner Liton Das struck 36 off 20 deliveries. Number three batsman and skipper Shoaib Malik kept the scoreboard ticking with 27 off 22 balls, before Mohammad Nawaz sealed the win in style with a six.

Nawaz finished the innings unbeaten on 17 off just seven balls. 

Delwar Hossain took two wickets for Sylhet, while Rutherford took one, as the Royals finished on 145/4. Afif Hossain was run out. 



Fletcher run out (Liton)        25    33

Mazid b Jayed            16    11

Charles c Sukkur b Irfan        8    7

Mithun run out (Rabbi/Irfan)    47    38

Rutherford c Malik b Kapali    25    11

Gazi st Sukkur b Kapali        0    1

Milon not out            13    11

Delwar not out            2    8

Extras (lb 6, w 1)        7

Total (20 Overs)            143/6

Fall Of Wickets

1-26 (Mazid), 2-36 (Charles), 3-68 (Fletcher), 4-115 (Mithun), 5-116 (Gazi), 6-129 (Rutherford)


Nawaz 4-0-15-0, Jayed 4-0-29-1, Irfan 4-0-18-1, Rabbi 4-0-28-0, Farhad 1-0-11-0, Malik 1-0-19-0, Kapali 1-0-14-2, Bopara 1-0-3-0


Liton lbw b Rutherford        36    20

Afif run out (Nazmul/Mithun)    46    30

Malik c Mazid b Delwar        27    22

Sukkur b Delwar        10    9

Bopara not out            1    4

Nawaz not out            17    7

Extras (b 1, nb 1, w 6)        8

Total (15.1 Overs)        145/4

Fall Of Wickets

1-59 (Liton), 2-94 (Afif), 3-125 (Sukkur), 4-127 (Malik)


Ebadat 3-0-32-0, Naveen 3-0-34-0, Rutherford 4-0-31-1, Nazmul 3-0-36-0, Delwar 2.1-0-11-2

Rajshahi Royals won by six wickets

MoM: Afif Hossain (RR)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail