• Monday, Aug 08, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Rangpur end BBPL campaign with win

  • Published at 09:16 pm January 10th, 2020
BBPL Rangpur Shane Watson
Rangpur Rangers captain Shane Watson takes a catch in the BBPL match against Dhaka Platoon on Friday; January 10, 2020 Md Manik/Dhaka Tribune

The Rangpur bowlers put in a collective effort to restrict Dhaka

Rangpur Rangers clinched a consolation win in their last match of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20, defeating Dhaka Platoon by 11 runs in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Rangpur end the tournament in sixth place, with 10 points from 12 matches.

Dhaka opener Tamim Iqbal was the top scorer for his side with 34 runs from 33 deliveries, including two fours and a six. 

No other Platoon batsman reached the 30 run mark, as they failed to chase the 150-run target set by Rangpur.

The Rangpur bowlers put in a collective effort to restrict Dhaka below the low target, with Junaid Khan, Taskin Ahmed and Arafat Sunny picking up two wickets each.

Despite the loss, Dhaka are still qualified for the play-offs with 14 points from 11 matches. 

They will play their final match of the league stage against Khulna Tigers on Saturday.

Dhaka Platoon captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza falls over after being struck by a ball in the BBPL match against Rangpur Rangers on Friday; January 10, 2020 Md Manik/Dhaka TribuneEarlier, Dhaka captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza won the toss and elected to field first.

The Dhaka bowlers appeared to justify their captain’s decision, as they kept good lines and lengths to restrict Rangpur in the powerplay.

Mashrafe himself bowled with his medium pace and finished his four overs at the beginning, conceding just 17 runs and picking up the important wicket of opposing skipper Shane Watson.

Lewis Gregory and Al-Amin tried to accelerate the run rate in the middle, with Gregory scoring 46 off 32 deliveries while Al Amin got out after scoring 35 from 24 balls.

Rangpur lost four wickets in the last over, as all-rounder Thishara Perera took two wickets in two balls with two runs outs as well. 

The Rangers finished their innings on 149/9.

Thisara Perera took three wickets for Dhaka, while Shadab Khan took two.

Rangpur’s Gregory was adjudged man of the match for his all-round efforts.

39TH Match, DPvRR


Watson c Anamul b Mashrafe     10    8

Naim c Asif b Shadab         17    21

Delport st Anamul b Mahedi    6    8

Gregory c Shadab b Perera    46    32

Al-Amin c Ariful b Shadab     35    24

Jahurul b Perera        28    24

Nadif not out            3    3

Taskin b Perera            0    1

Mustafizur run out (Perera)    0    0

Sunny run out (Shadab)        0    0

Extras (lb 1, nb 1, w 2)         4

Total (20 Overs)         149/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-11 (Watson), 2-28 (Delport), 3-50 (Naim), 4-99 (Gregory), 5-140 (Al-Amin), 6-147 (Jahurul), 7-147 (Taskin), 8-148 (Mustafizur), 9-149 (Sunny)


Mahedi 4-0-29-1, Mashrafe 4-0-17-1, Faheem 3-0-32-0, Shadab 4-0-25-2, Mahmud 2-0-22-0, Perera 3-0-23-3,


Tamim c Watson b Sunny    34    33

Anamul run out (Al-Amin)    5    5

Mahedi c Watson b Sunny    20    24

Mominul c sub (Rishad) b Taskin    18    14

Perera c sub (Abell) b Gregory    8    10

Shadab c Al-Amin b Junaid     16    14

Asif c Gregory b Taskin         1    2

Ariful c sub (Abell) b Mustafizur     1    2

Faheem c Naim b Junaid    3    6

Mashrafe not out        12    13

Hasan not out            0    1

Extras (b 4, lb 2, nb 4, w 10)    20

Total (20 Overs)         138/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-9 (Anamul), 2-55 (Mahedi), 3-79 (Tamim), 4-88 (Mominul), 5-102 (Perera), 6-109 (Asif), 7-111 (Ariful), 8-119 (Faheem), 9-119 (Shadab)


Mustafizur 4-0-31-1, Junaid 4-0-22-2, Gregory 4-0-25-1, Taskin 4-0-25-2, Sunny 4-0-29-2

Rangpur Rangers won by 11 runs

MoM: Lewis Gregory (RR)