• Sunday, May 22, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mashrafe signs off with 50th ODI win as captain

  • Published at 02:26 pm March 6th, 2020
Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das run between the wickets during their third ODI against Zimbabwe in Sylhet Friday BCB

With the win, Bangladesh completed an ODI series whitewash while Mashrafe, the most successful captain in the format for the country, finished with 50 wins in 88 matches

Bangladesh ensured a winning send-off for outgoing captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza, thrashing Zimbabwe by 123 runs in the third and final ODI of the series at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium Friday.

With the win, Bangladesh completed an ODI series whitewash while Mashrafe, the most successful captain in the format for the country, finished with 50 wins in 88 matches. 

A record opening partnership by Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das meant the victory never seemed in doubt.

The arrangements for Mashrafe’s farewell were kept simple, perhaps because his sudden announcement Thursday left little time to prepare an extravagant program. 

In front of the packed stands at SICS, Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan handed Mashrafe a memento in the presence of other dignitaries.

All members of the team stood by him, wearing Mashrafe jerseys.

Zimbabwe earlier sent Bangladesh in to bat first, but the decision backfired spectacularly. 

Tamim and Liton proceeded to give the Zimbabwe bowlers nightmares until the pair was finally broken through the dismissal of Liton in the 41st over, after they had scored 292 runs.

Bangladesh finished the rain-shortened innings on 322 after 43 overs, and the target was adjusted to 342 (Duckworth/Lewis method).

Just before the rain interruption in the 33rd over of the Bangladesh innings, which kept the game on hold for two hours and 38 minutes, Tamim and Liton broke the 21-year-old record for highest first wicket partnership for Bangladesh.

The previous record had been set at 170 runs by Shahriar Hossain and Mehrab Hossain. 

Liton was magnificent in his record innings of 176 runs off 142 balls, which also included a record eight sixes. 

At the other end, the experienced Tamim added an unbeaten 128 off 109 balls. 

Mashrafe began the Zimbabwe innings in style, picking up the wicket of Tinashe Kamunhukamwe in his very first over with a perfect out-swinger. 

Subsequently, the Zimbabwe top order recovered but failed to keep the run rate in order.

Eventually, Zimbabwe were forced to try taking risks and consequently kept losing wickets. 

They were bundled out for 218 in the 38th over.

Afif Hossain and Mohammad Naim, both making their ODI debuts, picked up their first ODI wicket and catch, respectively.

Mustafizur Rahman and Taijul Islam also took a wicket each, while Saifuddin bagged two. 

Zimbabwe’s teenage sensation Wesley Madhevere, just 19 years old, top scored for his side with 42.



Tamim not out            128    109

Liton c Raza b Mumba        176    143

Mahmudullah lbw b Mumba    3    4

Afif c Williams b Mumba    7    4

Extras (lb 1, nb 2, w 5)        8 

Total (43 Overs)            322/3 

Fall Of Wickets

1-292 (Liton), 2-312 (Mahmudullah), 3-322 (Afif)


Mumba 8-0-69-3, Tshuma 6-1-48-0, Raza 7-0-64-0, Madhevere 5-0-29-0, Tiripano 8-0-65-0, Williams 9-1-46-0

ZIMBABWE INNINGS            R    B

Kamunhukamwe c Liton b Mashrafe     4    4

Chakabva b Taijul             34    45

Taylor c Mithun b Saifuddin        14    15

Williams b Afif Hossain            30    36

Madhevere c Miraz b Saifuddin        42    42

Raza c Naim b Saifuddin            61    50

Mutumbami run out (Tamim/Miraz)    0    2

Mutombodzi c Naim b Mustafizur     7    6

Tiripano b Taijul             15    18

Mumba not out                4    6

Tshuma b Saifuddin            0    1

Extras                    7 

Total (37.3 Overs)            218 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-5 (Kamunhukamwe), 2-28 (Taylor), 3-74 (Williams), 4-113 (Chakabva), 5-150 (Madhevere), 6-164 (Mutumbami), 7-173 (Mutombodzi), 8-202 (Tiripano), 9-218 (Raza), 10-218 (Tshuma)


Mashrafe 6-0-47-1, Saifuddin 6.3-0-41-4, Miraz 8-0-47-0, Mustafizur 6-0-32-1, Afif 2-0-12-1, Taijul 9-0-38-2

Bangladesh won by 123 runs (D/L method)

MoM: Liton Das

MoS: Liton Das & Tamim Iqbal

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail