• Tuesday, May 24, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Arambagh squad halved as transfer window begins

  • Published at 08:15 pm October 31st, 2020
Arambagh's new Indian coach Subrata Bhattacharya (2L)

Among notable experienced names in Arambagh’s released list are former national midfielder Komol and goalkeeper Barua

Arambagh Sporting Club decided to release more than half of the squad members from last season as eight top-flight clubs out of a total of 13 sent the names of some 57 players they want to let go for the 2020-21 season with the transfer window beginning Sunday.

New Indian head coach of Arambagh, Subrata Bhattacharya along with three other coaching staff members landed in Dhaka Saturday before heading to Nilphamari where their practice camp began this week with comparatively a younger squad than last season, informed the club officials.

The Motijheel outfit sent a list of as many as 17 players including captain and the club’s top-paid signing of the 2019-20 season Didarul Haque as the deadline for submission was Saturday.

“The coach wanted young players in the squad. Most of the players we released are aged around 30 or above,” said Yakub Ali, the general secretary of the club which now have 14 players from the previous squad.

Among notable experienced names in Arambagh’s released list are former national midfielder Abdul Baten Komol Majumdar and goalkeeper Uttam Barua. 

Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited were the first club to send the list of nine released players.

ATK Mohun Bagan Football Club legend Subrata Bhattacharya is going to be the new head coach of Arambagh Krira Sangha.

Posted by Sports Tribune on Monday, 19 October 2020

Among others, Uttar Baridhara Club decided to release eight players, Police Football Club and Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra six players each, Saif Sporting Club three and Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra two.

Premier League champion Bashundhara Kings also released six less-familiar faces from their big-spending squad including goalkeeper Maksudur Rahman and midfielder Umar Faruk Mithu.

Two Dhanmondi giants Abahani Limited and Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited decided to keep the squad unchanged along with Chittagong Abahani Ltd.

The transfer window will close on December 15. 

If the released players fail to find a new destination during the window they would have to be registered by the previous clubs, said a statement from the BFF that attached the full list. 

A club can register maximum 35 players in the squad.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail