• Friday, Feb 03, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Dhaka halt Chattogram winning run

  • Published at 01:10 pm December 6th, 2020
Chattogram's Soumya Sarkar drops the catch of Dhaka's Mushfiqur Rahim during their Bangabandhu T20 Cup match in Mirpur Sunday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Chattogram needed 146 in order to secure their playoff berth but were made to wait for it as they eventually managed 138/9

Beximco Dhaka held their nerve to clinch their third win in a row in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup, after starting the tournament with three straight losses, as Gazi Group Chattogram saw their four-match winning run come to an end at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Sunday.

Dhaka were victorious by seven runs in a thriller as they exacted revenge over the table-topper who had bundled out the former for only 88 in their previous clash. 

Chattogram needed 146 in order to secure their playoff berth but were made to wait for it as they eventually managed 138/9 in their stipulated 20 overs.

The port city suffered a big loss in their pursuit early in the innings when opener Soumya Sarkar, one of the most in-form players of the tournament, was judged leg before wicket without opening his account in the very first over bowled by right-arm paceman Rubel Hossain. 

The television replay showed that the ball pitched outside leg stump but Chattogram openers did not opt for a review after discussing among them.

Another in-form opener, Liton Kumar Das, the highest scorer of the tournament thus far, was crucial for Chattogram in their chase as he made 47 off 39 balls.

Chattogram paid a heavy price for the costly drop as Mushfiq scored an unbeaten 73 Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik  

But the right-handed batsman got out in the last ball of the 14th over while trying to play a scoop shot against off spinner Robiul Islam Robi, and Shafiqul Islam took a splendid catch at short fine leg, running and diving to his right at full stretch. 

Liton left his side on 96/3, with 50 required off 36 deliveries. 

The equation was still gettable for Chattogram but skipper Mohammad Mitun departed for 21 three balls later and the other batsmen failed to navigate the side home. 

Medium pacer Muktar Ali picked up three wickets for Dhaka while Rubel and Robiul took two scalps each.

Earlier Dhaka made a struggling start and at a stage were reduced to 23/3 in the fifth over. 

Sabbir Rahman returned to the playing XI for Dhaka in this game and was promoted to open the batting, but he never looked comfortable and ultimately stayed for 10 balls scoring just seven with the aid of an shaky boundary.

Dhaka's Muktar Ali was in his elements, bagging three crucial wickets Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Dhaka could have been in further trouble had captain Mushfiqur Rahim been dismissed when he was on two, but Soumya dropped his catch at slip off left-arm spinner Rakibul Islam.

Mushfiq dearly made Chattogram pay as he and Yasir Ali Rabbi added 86 for the fourth wicket.

Yasir scored 34 off 38 deliveries with three boundaries before being caught off the bowling of the tournament’s highest wicket taker Mustafizur Rahman. 

Mushfiq remained solid at the other end and scored quick runs in the end with delightful strokes all around the park help his side reach 145/5 in their allotted 20 overs. 

Mushfiq remained unbeaten on 73 off 50 deliveries with seven fours and three sixes and was later adjudged man of the match.



Naim c Nahidul b Shariful     13    11

Sabbir lbw b Rakibul         7    10

Tanzid lbw b Nahidul         0    2

Mushfiq not out        73    50

Yasir c Mosaddek b Mustafizur     34    38

Akbar not out            10    9

Extras (lb 2, w 6)        8

Total (20 Ov, RR: 7.25)        145/4

Fall Of Wickets

1-13 (Naim), 2-13 (Tanzid), 3-23 (Sabbir), 4-109 (Yasir)


Nahidul 4-0-16-1, Shariful 4-0-48-1, Rakibul 4-0-24-1, Mustafizur 4-0-19-1, Mosaddek 1-0-8-0, Soumya 3-0-28-0


Liton c Shafiqul b Robi            47    39

Soumya lbw b Rubel             0    2

Mahmudul c sub (Nayeem) b Robi    26    24

Mithun c Yasir b Shafiqul         21    20

Mosaddek c Akbar b Rubel         13    16

Shamsur c Naim b Muktar         10    8

Ziaur run out (Mushfiq)            1    1

Nahidul b Muktar             9    4

Rakibul not out                1    3

Mustafizur c Tanzid b Muktar         7    3

Shariful not out                0    0

Extras (lb 2, w 1)            3

Total (20 Ov, RR: 6.9)            138/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-1 (Soumya), 2-48 (Mahmudul), 3-96 (Liton), 4-98 (Mithun), 5-114 (Shamsur), 6-115 (Ziaur), 7-129 (Mosaddek), 8-130 (Nahidul), 9-138 (Mustafizur)


Rubel 4-0-24-2, Nasum 4-0-25-0, Shafiqul 4-0-25-1, Robi 4-0-23-2, Muktar 4-0-39-3

Beximco Dhaka won by seven runs

MoM: Mushfiqur Rahim (BD)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail