• Saturday, Jun 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mosaddek returns as Bangladesh announce squad for NZ tour

  • Published at 05:43 pm February 19th, 2021
Bangladesh players celebrate against the West Indies during the ODI series in Mirpur in January this year BCB

The Bangladesh team will depart for New Zealand Tuesday to play three ODIs and as many T20s

The Bangladesh Cricket Board Friday announced the squad for the national team’s upcoming tour of New Zealand. 

The Bangladesh team will depart for New Zealand Tuesday to play three ODIs and as many T20s.

The 20-man squad has been announced for both ODIs and T20s.

Ace all-rounder Shakib al Hasan was granted leave for the New Zealand series for personal reason, making Taijul Islam the only Bangladesh left-arm spinner for the tour.

Bangladesh last played T20s against Zimbabwe at home in March last year. 

From that squad, leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob and right-arm pacer Shahidul Islam have been dropped.

Shakib al Hasan will skip the forthcoming two-match Test series versus Sri Lanka in April in order to make himself available for the entirety of the IPL 2021 season, reports Cricbuzz.

Posted by Sports Tribune on Thursday, 18 February 2021

Middle-order batsman Mosaddek Hossain has returned to the squad for the upcoming tour after last playing an ODI back in July, 2019 against Sri Lanka. 

Mosaddek played his last T20 against India in November, 2019 when he returned home early without completing the series due to his ailing mother.

Although Mosaddek performed below-par with the bat in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup where he scored 148 runs in nine innings, his inclusion in the squad will give more options to the Tigers in the middle-order in tough conditions in New Zealand.

The first ODI between Bangladesh and hosts New Zealand will be played at University of Otago Oval, Dunedin on March 20. 

The second ODI will be held at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on March 23 while the third will be played at Basin Reserve, Wellington on March 26. 

The three-T20 series will be played in Hamilton, Napier and Auckland respectively on March 28,30 and April 1.


Tamim Iqbal, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Taskin Ahmed, Al Amin Hossain, Shariful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail