• Friday, Jan 27, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Abahani on top, MSC’s losing streak continues

  • Published at 03:16 pm June 10th, 2021
Abahani's Mohammad Naim plays a shot during their DPL match against Shinepukur in Savar Thursday BCB

Abahani continue their stay at the top of the points table, Mohammedan's fortunes refuse to improve while Khelaghar maintain their impressive run

Abahani Limited regained top spot of the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League Twenty20’s points table by winning Thursday, while Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited tasted their third consecutive defeat to slide down the standing.

Abahani beat Shinepukur Cricket Club by 26 runs at the ground-4 of Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishthan in Savar, while Mohammedan conceded an embarrassing nine-wicket loss against Legends of Rupganj at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

At ground-3 of BKSP, Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity continued their surprise run as they stunned Brothers Union to pick up their third win in six matches so far in the T20 League.

Abahani v Shinepukur

After losing the toss, Abahani openers Mohammad Naim and Afif Hossain got off to a blistering start with a 111-run stand off 73 balls, before the latter was dismissed for 54 off 42 balls.

Naim, who was later adjudged man-of-the-match, continued his onslaught before getting dismissed in the 18th over after scoring 70 off 50 balls with four fours and equal number of sixes.

Other Abahani bowlers chipped in with some quick runs to help their side accumulate 183/5 in their stipulated 20 overs.

Due to inclement weather, Shinepukur’s target was revised to 149 from 17 overs and they suffered an early setback as opener Rahmat Mia was out for a duck in the fifth ball of the first over.

Other opener Tanzid Hossain scored 29 but consumed 35 balls that cost his side the match as the required run rate reached so high that the innings of Tawhid Hridoy (36 off 32) and a whirlwind unbeaten 31 off 15 from Mahidul Islam Ankon could only reduce the defeat margin.

Saifuddin grabbed three wickets for Abahani.

Shakib al Hasan walks back after his second duck in a row in what eventually turned out to be Mohammedan's third loss in succession as Rupganj emerged victorious in Mirpur

Mohammedan v Rupganj

After winning the toss, Mohammedan made a shambolic start as their opener Mahmudul Hasan got out in the final ball of the first over conceding a maiden.

Their situation turned from bad to worse with each passing over as they lost a flurry of wickets, including skipper Shakib al Hasan for a duck, and after 9.2 overs they were reduced to 27/6.

Shuvagata Hom showed rearguard action from that sorry state and his swashbuckling 52 off 33 helped his side get past the 100-run mark to finish on 113/9.

Sohag Gazi, Mohammad Shahid, Naeem Islam and Qazi Onik grabbed two wickets apiece for Rupganj.

Mohammedan’s only hope was to get early wickets, but Rupganj openers Pinak Ghosh and Mehedi Maruf gave them no chance whatsoever by scoring 51 and 41 respectively and forming a 89-run stand.

Khelaghar players celebrate the dismissal of Brothers' Mysukur Rahman in Savar 

Khelaghar v Brothers

Brothers skipper Mizanur Rahman scored 66 opening the batting and was eventually adjudged the man-of-the-match, but his innings raised eyebrows as he required 61 balls to amass those runs.

Other batters also scored with similar strike-rate and in the end they compiled 134 losing five wickets.

Khelaghar were given a target of 105 in 16 overs and lost both the openers when the score was five.

Mehedi Hasan Miraz and captain Jahurul Islam formed a 58-run stand for the third wicket from 48 balls. 

Jahurul was dismissed for run-a-ball 26, but Miraz remained not out on 40 from as many balls, while Farhad Hossain took his side home with an unbeaten 36 off 29 deliveries.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail