• Sunday, Aug 14, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Abahani, Prime Bank face off for DPL title

  • Published at 07:59 pm June 25th, 2021
Abahani's Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Prime Bank's Mustafizur Rahman will be the trumpcards for their sides in Saturday's Super League clash in Mirpur BCB

It can be considered a battle between the strong batting line-up of Abahani and formidable bowling of Prime Bank

Abahani Limited and Prime Bank Cricket Club will be fighting for the title of the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League Twenty20 in their last match of the super six stage in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Saturday.

Both teams have 22 points from 15 games and the final round of the super league phase will be played Saturday.

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club have 21 points from 15 games and that means whoever wins the match between Abahani and Prime Bank Saturday will become champions eventually.

It will be a fascinating contest between the two sides as both have played exciting cricket throughout the tournament.

It can be considered a battle between the strong batting line-up of Abahani and formidable bowling of Prime Bank.

Abahani have the likes of Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain and Saifuddin in their batting line-up, while Prime Bank boast the bowling arsenal in left-arm pacers Mustafizur Rahman and Shariful Islam, right-arm pacer Rubel Hossain, off-spinner Nayeem Hasan and experienced all-rounder Alok Kapail.

Abahani opener Munim Shahriar is in great form as he scored 352 runs from 12 innings, while Prime Bank opening batsman Rony Talukdar is also in good touch as the right-hander totalled 366 in 15 innings.

Although both Abahani and Prime Bank will miss their icon players Mushfiqur Rahim and Tamim Iqbal, it will be a tense contest between these two of the best teams of the current campaign.

It is expected to be a captivating contest between bat and ball today afternoon where the title will be decided.

“Our team are in good shape and our players are also in form. Abahani are always a very tough opponent. We are ready to face the challenge. We are aiming for the title,” said Prime Bank captain Anamul Haque.

“Just like every year, DPL has been a fantastic tournament so far. Thanks to Bangladesh Cricket Board for arranging such an exciting tournament even in this challenging time,” Anamul added. 

“We are ready to fight against Prime Bank. Obviously it’s a very important game for us as the title will be decided through this game. Prime Bank are a strong team. We have defeated them in the league stage this season. Hopefully we can repeat such kind of performance again and win the title,” said Abahani team director Khaled Mahmud.

The match between Abahani and Prime Bank will start at 2pm.

In the other matches of the day, Doleshwar will play against Mohammedan Sporting Club Ltd in the morning while Gazi Group Cricketers will lock horns with Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd in the evening.