• Thursday, Aug 11, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Bangladesh keeps unchanged squad against Australia

  • Published at 05:43 pm July 27th, 2021
Bangladesh players celebrate with the T20I series trophy in Harare Sunday BCB

Bangladesh will play visitors Australia in the first of five T20Is on August 3

Bangladesh T20I squad for the five-match series at home against Australia is to remain the same as that of the Zimbabwe tour.

Given the Covid-19 protocols, Bangladesh do not have the opening to bring any change.

One of the Covid-19 protocols agreed between the Bangladesh Cricket Board and Cricket Australia is that the team members and officials have to be in at least 10-day quarantine before joining the team hotel in Dhaka Thursday.

For that reason, the 17-member Bangladesh T20I squad, which is currently in Zimbabwe awaiting the flight from Harare Wednesday, will directly report at the bio-secured bubble in a Dhaka hotel Thursday.

Rubel Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam and Mohammad Mithun, who were part of the Bangladesh ODI squad in Zimbabwe, have been added to the T20I squad for the Australia series.

Due to the protocols, Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim will not be available for the series.

The middle-order batsman, who returned home during the halfway stage of the Zimbabwe series, could not get into the 10-day quarantine.

BCB had made request to CA to allow a change but the plea was denied.

Bangladesh batsman Liton Das is also facing similar situation.

The top-order batsman had to come out of the bio-bubble in Zimbabwe and travel to Dhaka due to a family emergency.

Liton cannot join the squad for the series either.

BCB member of the national selection panel Habibul Bashar while speaking to Dhaka Tribune Tuesday confirmed that Bangladesh would go in with an unchanged squad.

“We cannot make one [change in the squad] even if we want because of the Covid-19 protocols. The team will remain the same that has been in Zimbabwe. Mushfiq and Liton cannot join considering they could not meet the terms of the protocols,” Bashar explained.

Bangladesh finished their month-long tour of Zimbabwe winning the T20I series 2-1 Sunday at Harare Sports Club.

Bangladesh will return home with three trophies having won the lone Test and the three-match ODI series earlier in the tour.

Meanwhile, Australia too will reach Dhaka Thursday.

The five T20Is will be played between August 3 to 9 behind closed doors at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Bangladesh will play visitors Australia in the first T20I on August 3.

The second, third, fourth and fifth game of the series will be held on August 4, 6, 7 and 9 respectively.

The series is part of both the teams' preparation for the World T20I, set to take place in the United Arab Emirates and Oman between October 17 and November 14.

Bangladesh following the Australia series are scheduled to host New Zealand for five T20Is as well.

Bangladesh squad probable:

Mahmudullah (c), Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Nurul Hasan, Shakib al Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Shariful Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam