• Tuesday, Aug 16, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mustafizur in Warne's best world T20 team

  • Published at 10:13 pm June 18th, 2016
Mustafizur in Warne's best world T20 team

Australia spin legend Shane Warne has named Bangladesh pace sensation Mustafizur Rahman in his best world Twenty20 XI. The former leg-spinner posted his dream T20 team on his Facebook account.

Mustafizur enjoyed a stellar campaign in the Indian Premier League, taking 17 wickets from 16 matches at a remarkable economy rate of 6.90 – the lowest among bowlers who have bowled at least 20 overs in the tournament. Consequently, the 20-year old was named the Emerging Player of the competition.

In recent times, Mustafizur also won the Debutant of the Year title - a category voted on by ESPNcricinfo's users, in addition to the jury.

He was instrumental in Bangladesh's unprecedented success in 2015, and a lot of that came from one particular type of delivery – the off-cutter.

His competitors for debutant of the year included fellow fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada, now a South African regular through his strong performances, Sri Lanka's Dushmantha Chameera, and England's Mark Wood.

In his first two ODIs, Mustafizur dismissed Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni and Ajinkya Rahane. He took a total of 11 wickets in those matches - five in the first and six in the second - and every dismissal was celebrated with an air of wonderment and a toothy grin that won over a nation of 160 million.

But as impressive as the numbers from his breakthrough year are - 36 international wickets at 13.63 - they hardly tell the whole story. Mustafizur brings a freshness to the game with his homespun technique, bowling a mix of back-of-the-hand and front-of-the-hand slower balls, offcutters and traditional left-arm deliveries.

Warne's team also includes, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and recently retired Brendon McCullum. Warne's former team-mate Shane Watson also finds a place in the middle-order along with West Indies' T20 specialists Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo.

Jos Buttler, who had an outstanding World Twenty20 has been picked for the wicketkeeper's role. Mitchell Starc and Sunil Narine complete the list.

However, T20 exponents Aaron Finch and Martin Guptill missed out to find a berth in Warne's XI. Kohli was the only Indian player in the team after a stupendous run in the T20 format, including the IPL.