• Monday, Jul 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mustafizur named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

  • Published at 01:57 pm December 22nd, 2016
  • Last updated at 09:58 pm December 22nd, 2016
Mustafizur named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year
Fast bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman has been named the International Cricket Council's Emerging Player of the Year, becoming the first Bangladesh cricketer to win an annual award of world cricket's governing body. The left-arm fast bowler has registered impressive performances since his international debut in April, 2015. In the period under consideration (September 2015-16), he picked up eight ODI wickets and 19 Twenty20 international wickets. “This award is the best gift of the year for me and will encourage me to do even better in the coming years. I’m delighted and proud to win this award, especially since this is the first time that a Bangladesh player has won an ICC award,” said Mustafizur. “Playing international cricket is a dream for every cricketer. And it has been a dream come true for me. I want to thank everyone who supported me over the years. I promise to give my best whenever I get the opportunity,” he added. [arve url="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FDhakaTribuneSport%2Fvideos%2F1177361865678268%2F&show_text=0&width=560"/] Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin became the third India player and 12th overall to win the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (Cricketer of the Year). He was also named the Test Cricketer of the Year, thus becoming the second India cricketer after Rahul Dravid (2004) to receive two awards in the same year. The top-ranked Test bowler took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs in eight Tests during the voting period, in addition to 27 wickets in 19 T20Is. In 2016, he bagged 72 wickets in 12 Tests and became the second-fastest bowler to take 200 Test wickets. South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year while West Indies all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite won the T20I Performance of the Year award for his match-winning 34 not out off 10 balls in the final of the 2016 World T20 against England in Kolkata, India. Afghanistan stumper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad was adjudged the Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the after the hard hitter batsman finished as the leading ODI run-scorer with 699 runs in 16 ODIs. New Zealand's Suzie Bates was named the Women's ODI and T20I Player of the Year while Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq was awarded with the Spirit of Cricket accolade. South Africa’s Marias Erasmus was named Umpire of the Year. The player awards were judged by a voting academy, which was entirely independent of the ICC and in which members of the media from all the 10 Test playing countries were eligible to vote.


ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Ravichandran Ashwin (India) ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India) ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Quinton de Kock (South Africa) ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand) ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand) ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (34 not out, 10 balls, 1x4, 4x6, ICC WT20 India 2016 final v England, Kolkata) ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan) ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan) ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Marais Erasmus
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail