• Friday, May 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Afghanistan, Ireland awarded Test match status

  • Published at 08:38 pm June 22nd, 2017
  • Last updated at 08:06 pm June 24th, 2017
Afghanistan, Ireland awarded Test match status

Afghanistan and Ireland have both been awarded Test match status, the International Cricket Council announced Thursday.

The move, which means the two countries become full members of the ICC, cricket's global governing body, expands the number of Test-playing nations from 10 to 12.

Both countries were confirmed as full members after a unanimous vote at an ICC Council meeting in London on Thursday.

It means their men's teams will now be eligible to play five-day Test cricket, widely regarded as the sport's pinnacle format, following a recommendation that their applications met newly approved member criteria. It's been almost two decades since Bangladesh became the last country to be granted Test status. But Afghanistan and Ireland have now joined an exclusive club that also includes founder members Australia and England, who played the first Test match at Melbourne in 1877, South Africa, New Zealand, the West Indies, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Ireland have been knocking on the doors of the ICC for quite some time. Having played their first 50-over World Cup in 2007 and immediately making an impact by beating Pakistan, Ireland have since participated in every ICC event, causing a few upsets along the way.

Afghanistan, on the other hand, have grown tremendously since they received their One-Day status in 2011. Having failed to reach the World Cup the same year, the Asian side has made giant steps in ODIs and Twenty20 cricket. They qualified for the 2015 World Cup and won their first game in the mega event by beating Scotland.


The Asian side has been in the ascendancy for quite a while now. Their journey graph is on the upward curve and they are more formidable than any other associate nation, including Ireland, whom they beat in a recently held ODI and T20I series.

It comes as a no surprise that a team consisting of Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan, who are making all the waves for participating in different leagues around the globe, will be able to test their skills in the longest form of the game.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail