• Tuesday, Oct 04, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

South Africa seal convincing series sweep over Bangladesh

  • Published at 07:42 am October 22nd, 2017
  • Last updated at 04:40 pm October 22nd, 2017
South Africa seal convincing series sweep over Bangladesh
Bangladesh ended their three-match ODI series with yet another crushing defeat as host South Africa won by a comprehensive margin of 200 runs to seal a 3-0 whitewash in the third ODI at Buffalo Park Sunday. Chasing a massive 370-run target, Bangladesh were bundled out for only 169 within 40.4 overs. It was another disappointing performance overall from the Tigers, as they lost regular wickets within the first 15 overs while chasing. Opener Soumya Sarkar was brought back to the side after two ODIs but the left-hander did little impact before giving a catch to the slip cordon, scoring eight. Before that, the other opener Imrul Kayes (one) and No 3 batsman Liton Das (six) also got out early as Bangladesh were in all sorts of trouble. The next to be dismissed was the in-form wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim (eight), who tried to clear the boundary only to get caught at mid-off. Bangladesh were soon reduced to 61 for the loss of five wickets after Mahmudullah was adjudged lbw for two. It seemed Bangladesh were headed towards another humiliation and a below-par score of under-100. But all-rounder Shakib al Hasan and No 7 batsman Sabbir Rahman formed a 77-run partnership for the sixth wicket to save the Tigers’ blushes. But Bangladesh were never in the game actually, after losing quick wickets at the top of the batting order. Shakib was the top-scorer for Bangladesh with 63 off 82 balls with eight boundaries. Sabbir was the second highest scorer with 39. Seamer Dane Paterson picked up three wickets for South Africa. Earlier, South Africa captain Faf du Plesiss won the toss and elected to bat on a flat wicket in East London. The Proteas batsmen vindicated the decision as they posted a huge 369/6 from their stipulated 50 overs. Du Plessis was the highest scorer with an unbeaten 91 before retiring hurt. He was later carried away from the field by teammate David Miller. Opener Quinton de Kock continued his good form with the bat, scoring 73. Debutant Aiden Markram was also impressive, making 66 before being run out once again, just like his debut Test innings against Bangladesh at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom. Fast bowler Taskin Ahmed and youngster Mehedi Hasan Miraz bagged two wickets each for Bangladesh while Rubel Hossain took the other. Du Plessis was named player of the match while De Kock was adjudged player of the series. The two teams will now turn their attention to the two-game T20I series, scheduled for Thursday and Sunday at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein and Potchefstroom respectively. BRIEF SCORE Bangladesh 169 in 40.4 overs (Shakib 63, Sabbir 39, Paterson 3/44) lost to South Africa 369/6 (Du Plessis 91*, De Kock 73, Markram 66) by 200 runs
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail