• Wednesday, Aug 17, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Durjoy wins comfortably in BCB election, elected Dhaka director

  • Published at 06:51 pm October 31st, 2017
  • Last updated at 08:37 pm October 31st, 2017
Durjoy wins comfortably in BCB election, elected Dhaka director
Former Bangladesh cricket team captain Naimur Rahman Durjoy has been elected director from Dhaka after winning comfortably in the BCB election Tuesday. Alongside Durjoy (Manikganj), Syed Ashraful Islam (Kishoreganj) was also elected a Dhaka director after both won 13 votes each, as opposed to the seven claimed by Tanvir Ahmed Titu (Narayanganj) and three clinched by Shahinul Islam Bhuiyan (Narsingdi). Meanwhile, Alamgir Khan of Barisal Division Krira Sangstha was elected director from Barisal after winning five votes, compared to his competitor MA Awal Chowdhury Bhulu of Barisal District Krira Sangstha, who claimed two votes. Following the election, Election Commissioner Omar Faruk said, “There was some intense competition between the four candidates in Dhaka and two in Barisal. The result will be announced officially [Wednesday].” This term, the BCB board of directors’ quota will comprise of 25 members – 10 in category 1 (district and division), 12 in category 2 (club) and one in category 3 (public university, former cricketer and different organisation). The other two directors have been elected from the National Sports Council – Ahmed Sajjadul Alam Bobby and Enayet Hossain Siraj.

Also read: BCB election voter list draft missing Saber’s name

Twelve directors in category 2, one from category 3 and seven from category 1 have been elected unopposed. Kazi Inam Ahmed and Sheikh Sohel have been elected from Khulna division. Former national captain Akram Khan and AJM Nasir Uddin have been elected from Chittagong. Saiful Alam Swapan Chowdhury has been elected from Rajshahi. Advocate Anwarul Islam has been elected from Rangpur. And finally, Shafiul Alam Chowdhury Nadel has been elected from Sylhet. The 12 directors who have been elected unopposed in category 2 are Gazi Golam Mortuza, Tanzil Chowdhury, Showkat Aziz Russel, Siraj, Mahbub Anam, Afzalur Rahman Sinha, Manzur Kader, Jalal Younus, Nazib Ahmed, Ismail Haider Mallick, Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan and Hanif Bhuiyan. The solitary director elected in category 3 is former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mahmud Sujon.