• Wednesday, Jun 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

India thrash Pakistan to reach U-19 World Cup final

  • Published at 06:21 pm January 30th, 2018
India thrash Pakistan to reach U-19 World Cup final
India crushed arch-rival Pakistan by 203 runs in their Under-19 World Cup semi-final in Christchurch Tuesday to set up a tournament decider against Australia. An unbeaten century from Shubman Gill helped India set a competitive total of 272, which Pakistan never looked like reaching as they were skittled for 69 with more than 20 overs remaining. Ishan Porel was India's hero with the ball, taking four for 17 in a match the tournament favourites utterly dominated. "It was a good performance from everyone... we did a really good job," captain Prithvi Shaw said. It was the Pakistan youth team's third-lowest total on record, underlining the batting woes of a team that failed to score more than 200 during the tournament in New Zealand. Poor fielding also undermined Pakistan's chances as they squandered seven run-out chances. "Unfortunately our batsmen didn't really perform and nothing really worked out from the start," Pakistan skipper Hassan Khan said. "We missed a couple of chances and things didn't really go our way." The result sees India square off against fellow heavyweight Australia in Saturday's final in Tauranga. Both sides have won the tournament three times, with India winning its last title in 2012 when they defeated Australia in the final. India are unbeaten in New Zealand, with five convincing wins from five matches, including a 100-run win over Australia in the group stages. Australia also looked vulnerable in their quarter-final against England before a record-breaking eight-wicket spell from leg-spinner Lloyd Pope turned the match. Against Pakistan, the Indians won the toss and elected to bat first, with openers Shaw and Manjot Kalra scoring at better than a run a ball in the early overs. Pakistan's vaunted pace attack, which fired them into the final four, failed to make inroads as fielding errors saw Kalra dropped twice. The 89-run opening partnership was finally broken when Shaw was run out for 41, with the TV umpire ruling he failed to ground his bat properly while diving for safety. Kalra departed on 47 but India still appeared set for a big total until paceman Arshad Iqbal slowed their momentum with three wickets in as many overs. Muhammad Musa helped mop up the tail, ending with figures of four for 67 but Gill continued his rich vein of form at the tournament to ensure India's total was competitive. He steadied the middle order and brought up his 93-ball century in the final over, finishing on 102 not out. Pakistan made a disastrous start, slumping to 28 for four as Porel tore through their top order. Shaw led the way in the field with two sharply-taken catches. Only three Pakistan batsman reached double figures, with Rohail Nazir top-scoring on 18 in a one-sided contest. BRIEF SCORE: India 272 for 9 (Gill 102*, Kalra 47, Shaw 41, Musa 4-67) beat Pakistan 69 (Nazir 18, Porel 4-17) by 203 runs
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail