• Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mashrafe shines for Abahani, Doleshwar edge Khelaghar

  • Published at 08:48 pm February 9th, 2018
  • Last updated at 03:26 am February 11th, 2018
Mashrafe shines for Abahani, Doleshwar edge Khelaghar
Riding on Mashrafe bin Mortaza's all-round performance, Abahani Limited secured their second consecutive win in the Dhaka Premier League season 2017-18 defeating Kalabagan Krira Chakra. The Bangladesh ODI and Abahani captain Mashrafe struck a 54-ball 67 and picked up four wickets to take the club to victory. In the other two games of the day, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club and Gazi Group Cricketers registered wins in their respective matches after both started their campaign with defeats. Abahani v Kalabagan Mashrafe’s all-round performance boosted the side to a 36-run victory over Kalabagan at BKSP. Abahani were asked to bat first and were under pressure early on in their innings, losing Saif Hasan in the second over with just four runs on the board. However, the damage was recovered with Nazmul Hossain Shanto's 83-ball 55. Mosaddek Hossain, who was benched and later released by the Bangladesh team from the second and final Test against Sri Lanka, added 40 to the total but it was Mashrafe who caused the most damage. In his knock, the veteran cricketer struck three boundaries and five over boundaries to lift Abahani’s total to 217 all out in 49.5 overs. Muktar Ali bagged three wickets to lead the Kalabagan attack. Chasing the target, Kalabagan posted 181 in 48.1 overs. Kalabagan captain Muktar scored 40 while Mashrafe bagged a four-for conceding 49 runs. Taskin Ahmed opened his tally for the season, taking three wickets.

Also read: Sheikh Jamal prevail in DPL nail-biter

Doleshwar v Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity Doleshwar recorded a nail-biting one-wicket victory over Khelaghar in Fatullah's Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium to open their wins account. Invited to bat first, Khelaghar scored 199 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their allotted 50 overs, courtesy Nazimuddin's 51 and Ashok Menaria's 45. Doleshwar’s Farhad Reza picked up four wickets. In reply, Doleshwar chased down the target in the last ball of the innings. Farhad Hossain was the highest scorer for his side with 45 while Fazle Mahmud made 42. Gazi Group v Shinepukur Cricket Club Team effort enabled Gazi Group to their first win of the season as they defeated Shinepukur by 20 runs at BKSP. Gazi Group were asked to bat first and they put up 279 losing six wickets in their stipulated 50 overs, riding on three half-centuries in the innings. Zakir Ali Anik scored an 118-ball 90, featuring half a dozen fours and a couple of sixes, and he was ably supported by Nadif Chowdhury, who blasted a 68-ball 71 with five boundaries and three over boundaries. Rajat Bhatia was unbeaten on a 34-ball 58. Shinepukur’s Saifuddin took two wickets. Later, Shinepukur were restricted to 259 as Rubel Hossain and Nayeem Hasan bagged three wickets each for Gazi Group. Shinepukur made a good start to the chase as Sabbir Hossain, Towhid Hridoy and Uday Kaul scored 55, 51 and 59 respectively. However, following the departure of the top four, the side lost their way in the chase. Only two from the remaining batsmen could reach double digit.

Also read: Newcomers Shinepukur, Agrani off to winning start

BRIEF SCORES Kalabagan 181 in 48.1 overs (Mashrafe 4/49, Taskin 3/30) lost to Abahani 217 in 49.4 overs (Mashrafe 67, Shanto 55) by 36 runs Shinepukur 259 in 48.4 overs (Kaul 59, Sabbir 55) lost to Gazi 279/6 (Zakir 90, Nadif 71) by 20 runs Doleshwar 200/9 (Farhad 45, Tanvir 3/48) beat Khelaghar 199/7 (Nazimuddin 51, Reza 4/37) by one wicket   SUNDAY'S MATCHES Mohammedan v Rupganj, Fatullah Prime Bank v Brothers, Savar Sk Jamal v Agrani Bank, Savar All the matches will start at 9am   POINTS TABLE Teams M W L Pts NRR Abahani 2 2 0 4 1.588 Prime Bank 1 1 0 2 1.366 Agrani Bank 1 1 0 2 0.986 Shinepukur 2 1 1 2 0.695 Brothers 1 1 0 2 0.301 Sk Jamal 1 1 0 2 0.060 Gazi Group 2 1 1 2 -0.333 Doleshwar 2 1 1 2 -0.767 Rupganj 1 0 1 0 -0.060 Mohammedan 1 0 1 0 -0.301 Kalabagan 2 0 2 0 -1.005 Khelaghar 2 0 2 0 -1.182
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail