• Sunday, Jun 26, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Clinical Abahani continue winning streak

  • Published at 06:48 pm February 26th, 2018
Clinical Abahani continue winning streak
Abahani Limited held onto their winning streak, posting their sixth win in as many matches in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2017-18 season. They bagged a 112-run victory over eternal arch-rival Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited yesterday to maintain top position in the points table. Meanwhile, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club picked up their fourth win of the season as they beat Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 56 runs. In the third game of the day, Legends of Rupganj also recorded their fourth victory defeating defending champion Gazi Group Cricketers by five wickets. In terms of performance, the day saw two centuries, five half-centuries and a hat-trick. Rupganj pacer Mohammad Sharif emerged as the second bowler to register a treble this season. Mohammedan v Abahani Abahani dominated Mohammedan at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka to increase their lead in the standing. With 12 points, the Dhanmondi-based club are at the summit, followed by Rupganj and Doleshwar, who both have eight points in six matches. Asked to bat first, Abahani, riding on fifties from Anamul Haque and Nasir Hossain put up 259 before being all out in 49.4 overs. Opener Anamul added 63 to the tally facing 81 deliveries while captain Nasir made 67 off 73 balls. Mohammad Azim took three wickets to top the Mohammedan bowling attack. Chasing the target, Mohammedan failed miserably as they got restricted for 147 in 30.4 overs. Only three batsmen reached double figure with Irfan Sukkur scoring the highest for his side - a 35-ball 40. Abahani’s Mashrafe bin Mortaza and Mehedi Hasan Miraz notched three wickets apiece to guide the Sky Blues to victory. Doleshwar v Sheikh Jamal Fazle Mahmud's unbeaten century and Farhad Reza's four-for boosted Doleshwar to a relatively comfortable 56-run victory against Sheikh Jamal in Fatullah's Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium. Fazle was not out on a 101-ball 120 as Doleshwar, invited to take first guard, posted 293 for the loss of six wickets in their stipulated 50 overs. Liton Das added 69 to the tally. Robiul Haque picked up two wickets for Sheikh Jamal. In reply, Nurul Hasan registered his maiden century of the season, scoring exactly 100 off 88 balls. However, opposition bowlers denied Sheikh Jamal batsmen from building partnerships as they were dismissed for 237 in 45 overs. Farhad Reza led the Doleshwar bowlers taking four scalps. Rupganj v Gazi Group Inspired by Sharif's hat-trick and unbeaten half-century by Parvez Rasool, Rupganj strolled to victory against Gazi Group at BKSP. Rupganj elected to field first and restricted the opposition to 190 in 32.4 overs. Right-arm pacer Sharif stole the limelight as he picked up a treble late in the innings. In the 33rd over, Sharif dismissed Rajibul Islam, Nadif Chowdhury and Ruhel Ahmed to wrap up the below-par Gazi Group innings. Sharif is the second DPL bowler this season to register a hat-trick after another Rupganj player, Asif Hasan. Nadif with 75 off 61 deliveries was the top-scorer for Gazi Group. Later, propelled by Rasool's unbeaten 61, and contributions by the other batsmen, Rupganj reached the shore in 32.1 overs. Nayeem Hasan took three wickets for Gazi Group. DPL, ROUND 6 Mohammedan 147 in 30.4 overs (Miraz 3/28, Mashrafe 3/37) lost to Abahani 259 in 49.4 overs (Nasir 67, Anamul 63) by 112 runs Rupganj 191/5 in 32.1 overs (Rasool 61*, Nayeem 3/38) beat Gazi Group 190 in 32.4 overs (Nadif 75, Sharif 6/33) by five wickets Sk Jamal 237 in 45 overs (Nurul 100, Farhad 4/56) lost to Doleshwar 293/6 (Fazle 120*, Liton 69) by 56 runs   POINTS TABLE Teams M W L PT NRR Abahani 6 6 0 12 1.588 Rupganj 6 4 2 8 0.453 Doleshwar 6 4 2 8 -0.147 Shinepukur 5 3 2 6 0.730 Mohammedan 6 3 3 6 -0.038 Sk Jamal 6 3 3 6 -0.185 Gazi Group 6 2 4 4 -0.349 Brothers 5 2 3 4 -0.468 Agrani Bank 5 2 3 4 -0.517 Khelaghar 5 2 3 4 -0.783 Prime Bank 5 1 4 2 -0.056 Kalabagan 5 1 4 2 -0.453   WEDNESDAY'S MATCHES Brothers v Shinepukur, BKSP 3 Kalabagan v Khelaghar, Mirpur Prime Bank v Agrani Bank, Fatullah All the games will start at 9am
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail