• Tuesday, Jun 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:54 pm

Bangladesh win T20 warm-up by 41 runs

  • Published at 03:30 pm March 6th, 2018
  • Last updated at 05:44 pm March 6th, 2018
Bangladesh win T20 warm-up by 41 runs
Bangladesh travelled to Sri Lanka for the Nidahas T20I tri-nation series with the hope of recovering their confidence in the dressing room and the Tigers were spot on in the T20 warm-up, winning by 41 runs against Sri Lanka Cricket President's XI. The Tigers through a team effort defeated the local side at Colombo Cricket Ground Tuesday. Option is slim to take the Bangladesh win lightly, given that the opponent had a good number of Sri Lanka capped players. Led by Dhananjaya de Silva, the SLC President's XI featured Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan and Angelo Perera, among others. Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das perhaps made the most impact in the game. The right-handed batsman was not able to score the highest in the innings but his 18-ball 40 made a statement, bearing in mind the situation he was in. Liton had come in to the squad as the replacement for the injured Shakib al Hasan and was able to play the practice game Tuesday because prominent opener Tamim Iqbal was rested. The blazing performance should catch the attention of the selection body. Considering the light nature of the warm up, there was no toss and Bangladesh batted first. And despite the early loss of opener Soumya Sarkar, boosted with Liton's innings, Bangladesh posted 186 on the board losing five wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Stumper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim struck the lone half-century of the innings adding 65 off 44 balls while stand-in captain Mahmudullah posted a 27-ball 43. Later, the Tigers defended the target by restricting SLC President's XI to 145 in 19 overs. The bowling should bring a bit of respite to the Bangladesh bowlers who made good contributions in the attack. Fast bowlers Taskin Ahmed and Rubel Hossain picked up two wickets each. Taskin in three overs gave away 16 runs while Rubel in as many overs conceded 19 runs. BRIEF SCORE Sri Lanka President's XI 145 in 19 overs (Dickwella 27, Taskin 2/16, Rubel 2/19) lost to Bangladesh 186/5 (Mushfiq 65, Mahmudullah 43, Liton 40) by 41 runs
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail