• Monday, May 23, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Mahmudullah fined, Chandimal suspended for two T20Is by ICC

  • Published at 08:44 pm March 11th, 2018
  • Last updated at 11:46 pm March 11th, 2018
Mahmudullah fined, Chandimal suspended for two T20Is by ICC
Interim T20I captain Dinesh Chandimal has been suspended from Sri Lanka’s upcoming two T20Is in the Nidahas tri-nation series after being found guilty of a serious over-rate offence in Saturday’s match against Bangladesh in Colombo's R Premadasa Cricket Stadium. Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fine after Chandimal’s side were ruled to be four overs short of their target when time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with article 2.5.2 of the ICC code of conduct for players and players support personnel, which relates to serious over-rate offences, players are fined 10% of their match fees for the first two overs and 20% per additional over their side failed to bowl in the allotted time, while the captain receives two suspension points. As two suspension points equate to a ban from one Test match or two ODIs or two T20Is, whatever comes first for the player, Chandimal has been suspended from his side’s Monday and Friday fixtures against India and Bangladesh respectively, while each of his players have received a fine of 60%. Chandimal pleaded not guilty to the offence, and, as such, Broad announced his decision following a hearing that took place Sunday afternoon. The hearing was attended by the match officials and the Sri Lanka team management. If Sri Lanka commit another serious over-rate breach in a T20I within 12 months of this offence with Chandimal as captain, it will be deemed as a second offence by Chandimal and he will receive between two and eight suspension points. According to article 8.2 of the code, Chandimal has a right to appeal against the sanction. Pending the outcome of the hearing, unless otherwise determined by the independent Judicial Commissioner appointed to hear the matter, the decision of the match referee will remain in effect. Chandimal will, therefore, not be eligible for selection. The independent Judicial Commissioner has the power to increase or decrease the sanction and his decision will be full and final, and will be binding on all parties. Meanwhile, makeshift Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah has also received a 20% fine of his match fee, while each of his players have received 10% fines after their side were ruled to be one over short. This was as per article 2.5.1, which deals with minor over-rate offences. If Bangladesh commit another minor over-rate breach in a T20I within 12 months of this offence with Mahmudullah as captain, it will be deemed as a second offence by Mahmudullah and he will face suspension. Mahmudullah pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing. The charges were levelled by on-field umpires Ranmore Martinez and Raveendra Wimalasiri, third umpire Lyndon Hannibal and fourth umpire Deepal Gunawardene.
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail