• Friday, Dec 09, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Bangladeshis in IPL

  • Published at 12:33 pm March 23rd, 2018
Bangladeshis in IPL
Ace all-rounder Shakib al Hasan will play for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League T20 while left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman will feature for Mumbai Indians. Shakib got sold to Sunrisers for $3,12,000 (Indian rupees two crore). Rajasthan Royals also bid for the all-rounder but Sunrisers eventually won the race. The all-rounder, who appeared for Kolkata Knight Riders in the last six editions of the tournament, was released by the franchise this season and following lost bids by Rajasthan landed in the Sunrisers camp. Mustafizur appeared for Sunrisers in the last two editions of the tournament but was released this year. Shakib will be the second Bangladesh cricketer to feature for Sunrisers after Mustafizur. He is only one of three players to have scored 1000-plus runs and taken 50-plus wickets in T20Is. He has scored 498 runs and taken 43 wickets in his IPL career spanning 43 matches. Meanwhile, Mustafizur will be playing for Mumbai after the reigning champion recruited him for Indian rupees two crore 20 lakhs ($3,43,000) following failed bids by Delhi Daredevils. The Fizz had tasted title success in the 2016 edition under the captaincy of Australia’s David Warner. Other Bangladesh cricketers included in the IPL auction this year are opener Tamim Iqbal, all-rounder Mahmudullah, off-spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz, wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das, batsman Sabbir Rahman and pacer Abul Hasan. But all these players remained unsold in the auction. Tamim’s exclusion was a surprise from Bangladesh’s point of view as the left-hander has been in splendid form recently in the limited-over formats. Tamim scored 646 runs in 11 ODI innings in 2017 at an average of 64.6. He also played in the Pakistan Super League last year. One of the biggest hitters of world cricket, Chris Gayle even went unsold in the auction. Later however, Kings XI Punjab recruited him. The IPL auction produced many surprises in that several world class players went unsold, including Morne Morkel (base price INR 75 lakhs), Thisara Perera (base price INR 50 lakhs), Nathan Lyon (base price INR 1.5 crores), Dale Steyn (base price INR one crore), Moises Henriques (base price INR 1.5 crores), Corey Anderson (base price INR two crores), Colin Ingram (base price INR two crores), Travis Head (base price INR 1.5 crores), Lendl Simmons (base price INR 1.5 crores), Shaun Marsh (base price INR 1.5 crores), Eoin Morgan (base price INR two crores), Alex Hales (base price INR one crore), Joe Root (base price INR 1.5 crores), Hashim Amla (base price INR 1.5 crores), Martin Guptill (base price INR 75 lakhs), James Faulkner (base price INR two crores), Jonny Bairstow (base price INR 1.5 crores), Josh Hazlewood (base price INR two crores), Mitchell McClenaghan (base price INR one crore), Lasith Malinga (base price INR one crore) and Samuel Badree (base price INR 1 crore), among others. The IPL 2018 is scheduled to start on April 4. Shakib in IPL Inns Runs SR Inns Wkts ER 32 498 130.36 42 43 7.17   Mustafizur in IPL Inns Runs SR Inns Wkts ER 17 - - 17 17 7.14
Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail