• Monday, Dec 05, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:24 am

BPL T20 players’ draft on October 25

  • Published at 03:42 pm September 1st, 2018

BPL governing council member secretary Ismail Haider Mallick announced the date Saturday following a meeting with representatives of the seven BPL franchises.

The players’ draft of the sixth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League T20 will be held on October 25. BPL governing council member secretary Ismail Haider Mallick announced the date Saturday following a meeting with representatives of the seven BPL franchises.

The BPL GC has also decided to introduce DRS (Decision Review System), and include at least one overseas umpire, in every game of the tournament, scheduled to start on January 5 next year. 

The meeting between BPL GC and the franchises also reached consensus on the policy regarding retention and direct signing of overseas cricketers.

“We had a meeting with the BPL franchises. The tournament will start on January 5, for which we have reached some decisions. The players’ draft will be held on October 5,” informed Mallick to the media Saturday.

“We will have review system this time, and also include one overseas umpire in each game alongside a local umpire,” the BCB director added.

A team can retain four players from the previous squad, and this can be a mix of local and overseas cricketers. A team can also sign two overseas cricketers directly. The two directly signed overseas cricketers cannot be a registered player from the last season of the BPL. 

A side can register a maximum of eight overseas cricketers for the upcoming season. The franchises have been asked to submit the list of retained players to the BPL GC by the end of September.  

“All the overseas cricketers who played last year have to go into the draft. The franchises can rope in two overseas players who were not registered in the last season of the tournament, rest of the foreign cricketers has to come from the draft,” Mallick explained. 

It is understood that the draft will see changes in categories for the overseas cricketers. Previously, the highest paid overseas cricketers got $70,000. This category is now likely to go up to $200,000, followed by $150,000 and so on. The minimum category of overseas players is likely to be set at $15,000. 

Mallick explaining the decision of allowing direct overseas cricketers’ signings said it was based on the timing of the tournament.

“We had to shift the tournament to January due to the national election. As you all know at that point of time there will other T20 leagues and international series’ taking place. So majority of the overseas cricketers will be engaged. In order for the teams to be able to sign the needed amount of overseas players, we have decided to allow two direct signings,” said Mallick.

The BPL GC also named board director Sheikh Sohel as the acting chairman of the BPL GC. The post of BPL GC chairman went vacant following the sad demise of BCB director Afzalur Rahman Sinha on August 8 this year.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail