• Monday, Aug 15, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Ashraful picked by Chittagong Vikings for BPL 6

  • Published at 02:31 pm October 28th, 2018
Mohammad Ashraful Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The most interesting purchase was perhaps that of former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful, who was picked up by Chittagong Vikings

The players’ draft of the sixth season of the Bangladesh Premier League T20 took place at a city hotel Sunday. 

Officials, icon players and franchise owners of the seven teams - Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Khulna Titans, Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians, Rajshahi Kings and Sylhet Sixers – were present at the programme.  

As many as 366 foreign players were available in the draft, highest in the history of the BPL. 

Just prior to the draft, BPL governing council approved Chittagong Vikings' application for Mushfiqur Rahim's inclusion as a retained player as the franchise do not have any A+ category player.

The local players were categorised in six grades – A+ (Tk75 lakhs), A (Tk25 lakhs), B (Tk18 lakhs), C (Tk12 lakhs), D (Tk8 lakhs) and E (Tk5 lakhs).

The foreign players were categorised in seven grades – A+ ($200,000), A ($150,000), B ($100,000), C ($75,000), D (50,000), E ($30,000) and F ($20,000).

BCB president Nazmul Hasan started off proceedings by giving the opening speech. 

The draft was conducted by Mahbub Anam, senior vice president of the BCB.

The most interesting purchase was perhaps that of former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful, who was picked up by Chittagong.

The right-handed batsman was kept in category B and players of this category have the price tag of Tk18 lakhs.

Other notable picks for the Vikings were Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, South African Cameron Delport and Sri Lankan Dasun Shanaka. 

Defending champion Rangpur had already signed South African explosive batsman AB de Villiers and England’s Alex Hales.

They recruited Abul Hasan Raju, Sohag Gazi and Farhad Reza, among other local players, and Ravi Bopara and Rilee Rossouw, among other foreign recruits. 

Khulna roped in Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga and Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah. 

Among locals, the notable pickings by Khulna were wicket-keeper Jahurul Islam and Taijul Islam.  

Dhaka also purchased some effective local players like pacer Rubel Hossain and stumper-batsman Nurul Hasan and surprisingly, picked England batsman Ian Bell. 

Comilla also made some interesting buys for the new campaign. 

They recruited Shahid Afridi of Pakistan, Evin Lewis of the West Indies and Thisara Perera of Sri Lanka, among other foreign purchases.   

Rajshahi went for Soumya Sarkar, Arafat Sunny, Fazle Rabbi Mahmud, Mohammad Sami of Pakistan and Ryan ten Doeschate of the Netherlands while Sylhet picked Alok Kapali, Ebadat Hossain, Towhid Hridoy and Mohammad Irfan of Pakistan, among others.  

The tournament will start on January 5 next year tentatively and the final is scheduled to be held on February 10.