• Sunday, Jan 29, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Mahmudullah: We are sorry

  • Published at 12:28 pm November 6th, 2018
Mominul Haque
Bangladesh batsman Mominul Haque is bowled against Zimbabwe in their first Test at Sylhet Md Manik

The Bangladesh stand-in Test captain has apologised to the nation for the side’s humiliating 151-run loss against a lower ranked Zimbabwe in the game triggered by severe batting failures

Bangladesh captain Mahmudllah has admitted the manner of defeat against Zimbabwe in the first Test at Sylhet International Stadium was unacceptable. The Bangladesh stand-in Test captain has apologised to the nation for the side’s humiliating 151-run loss against a lower ranked Zimbabwe in the game triggered by severe batting failures.  

Bangladesh had gone into the Test series against Zimbabwe seeing it as a preparatory ground for the upcoming home series against West Indies. But the start has been horrific for the Tigers, losing the game within three-and-a-half days against a side that has played their first Test in almost a year and bagged an overseas win for the first time in 17 years.

“It is tough and disappointing to accept such a defeat as captain. The supporters had come to the stadium to see us play well which we failed. We are sorry for that. I hope they will keep on supporting us the way it has always been. There have been many occasions when Bangladesh cricket jumped back from bad situations and I hope the same will happen the soon,” said Mahmudullah to the media in Sylhet on Tuesday.

Right-handed all-rounder Mahmudullah said such defeats will start questioning image of the cricketers and they should step up soon. Bangladesh failed with the bat in both innings, scoring 143 and 169 runs respectively and for the eighth consecutive innings got dismissed under 200 runs.

“Image will be a big issue if we keep playing in such a way. Only thing I can say on behalf of the team is that we will not take it easy and make an effort to comeback hard from this point. I think just one innings is enough to give us (batsmen) back our momentum. I hope you will get to see a different Bangladesh team in the next game,” said Mahmudullah.

Bangladesh will lock horns with Zimbabwe in the second Test from November 11 at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.


Masakadza lbw b Jayed        52    105

Chari b Taijul                 13    31

Taylor c Shanto b Taijul         6    15

Williams c Miraz b Mahmudullah    88    173

Raza b Nazmul             19    52

Moor not out                            63    192

Chakabva c Shanto b Taijul                     28    85

Wellington c Mushfiq b Taijul                 4    28

Mavuta lbw b Nazmul                     3    14

Jarvis c Miraz b Taijul                         4    9

Chatara c Liton b Taijul                     0    1

Extras (b 1, lb 1)                        2 

Total (117.3 Overs)                        282 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-35 (Chari), 2-47 (Taylor), 3-85 (Masakadza), 4-129 (Raza), 5-201 (Williams), 6-261 (Chakabva), 7-268 (Wellington), 8-273 (Mavuta), 9-282 (Jarvis), 10-282 (Chatara)


Jayed 21-3-68-1, Taijul 39.3-7-108-6, Ariful 4-1-7-0, Miraz 27-8-45-0, Nazmul 23-6-49-2, Mahmudullah 3-0-3-1


Liton c Chakabva b Jarvis    9    25

Imrul b Chatara        5    13

Mominul c Masakadza b Raza    11    38

Shanto c Chakabva b Chatara    5    5

Mahmudullah b Chatara    0    2

Mushfiq c Chakabva b Jarvis    31    54

Ariful not out            41    96

Miraz c & b Williams        21    33

Taijul c Chakabva b Raza    8    24

Nazmul c Chari b Raza        4    15

Jayed run out (Chatara)    0    1

Extras (b 7, lb 1)        8 

Total (51 Overs)        143 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-8 (Imrul), 2-14 (Liton), 3-19 (Shanto), 4-19 (Mahmudullah), 5-49 (Mominul), 6-78 (Mushfiq), 7-108 (Miraz), 8-131 (Taijul), 9-143 (Nazmul), 10-143 (Jayed)


Jarvis 11-2-28-2, Chatara 10-4-19-3, Mavuta 6-0-27-0, Raza 12-2-35-3, Wellington 8-2-21-0, Williams 4-0-5-1


Masakadza lbw b Miraz                    48    104

Chari b Miraz                            4    33

Taylor c Imrul b Taijul                         24    25

Williams b Taijul                         20    65

Raza b Taijul Islam                        25    30

Moor c Liton b Taijul                         0    1

Chakabva c Mahmudullah b Nazmul                 20    65

Wellington lbw b Miraz                    17    60

Mavuta c Ariful b Nazmul                     6    4

Jarvis not out                            1    3

Chatara lbw b Taijul                         8    4

Extras (b 4, lb 4)                        8 

Total (65.4 Overs)                        181 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-19 (Chari), 2-47 (Taylor), 3-101 (Masakadza), 4-121 (Williams), 5-121 (Moor), 6-130 (Raza), 7-165 (Wellington), 8-172 (Chakabva), 9-173 (Mavuta), 10-181 (Chatara)


Taijul 28.4-8-62-5, Nazmul 6-1-27-2, Jayed 7-1-25-0, Miraz 19-7-48-3, Mahmudullah 4-1-7-0, Mominul 1-0-4-0


Liton lbw b Raza                            23    75

Imrul b Raza                                43    103

Mominul b Jarvis                            9    13

Mahmudullah c sub (Ervine) b Raza                    16    45

Shanto c Raza b Mavuta                        13    32

Mushfiq c Wellington b Mavuta                    13    44

Ariful c Chakabva b Wellington                    38    37

Miraz c Chakabva b Mavuta                        7    15

Taijul c Taylor b Wellington                        0    3

Nazmul lbw b Mavuta                            0    1

Jayed not out                                0    11

Extras (b 5, lb 2)                            7 

Total (63.1 Overs)                            169 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-56 (Liton), 2-67 (Mominul), 3-83 (Imrul), 4-102 (Mahmudullah), 5-111 (Shanto), 6-132 (Mushfiq), 7-150 (Miraz), 8-151 (Taijul), 9-155 (Nazmul), 10-169 (Ariful)


Jarvis 14-5-29-1, Chatara 9-2-25-0, Raza 17-1-41-3, Williams 8-2-13-0, Mavuta 10-2-21-4, Wellington 5.1-0-33-2

Zimbabwe won by 151 runs

MoM: Sean Williams

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail