• Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Bangladesh women lose third successive match at WT20I

  • Published at 02:50 am November 15th, 2018
Action from the Group A match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the World T20I in St Lucia Wednesday ICC

Bangladesh will now look to win their remaining game against South Africa Monday, failing which they will have to once again play the Qualifiers to earn a place at the World T20 in Australia in two years’ time

Bangladesh lost to Sri Lanka by 25 runs as they were bundled out for 72 after restricting the opponents for 97-7 in 20 overs at their Women’s World T20 game Wednesday.   

All the Sri Lanka spinners shared wickets, as they claimed their first win of the tournament and moved to second place in Group A.

In a rare occurrence, wickets fell off the first ball in both innings as seamers from both sides enjoyed the conditions, but it was the Sri Lanka spinners who were more consistent. 

After facing 81 dot balls in their game against England, Bangladesh conceded 75 against Sri Lanka in their batting effort. 

Prabhodani set the tone in Sri Lanka’s defence, taking two wickets in her first over, both in shape of leg before. 

She was forced to leave the field in the fifth over, injuring her finger as she dropped a hard return catch, but the spinners then took over.

Oshadie Ranasinghe got the big wicket of Ayasha Rahman (11 off 21 balls), who hit 39 against England, and then Rumana Ahmed was dismissed, the back of the Bangladesh batting broken at 23 for four in the seventh over. 

Nigar Sultana (21 off 41 balls) tried to stitch together a recovery, but received no support, and she was out in the 16th over, the seventh wicket to fall.  

Bangladesh hit only three boundaries in their innings, and were bowled out in the 20th over.

In the first innings, at a windy venue that has seen swing bowlers prosper in this tournament, Bangladesh played with four spinners and just one pace bowler, Jahanara Alam. 

She stood out, taking three economical wickets in a tight opening spell from which Sri Lanka took a while to recover.

Jahanara bowled Yasoda Mendis round her legs for a duck in the first ball of the match, and conceded just 10 off her first three overs as Sri Lanka struggled to just 17 for one in the powerplay. 

They struggled to 35 for three in 10 overs, as the Bangladesh spinners made scoring difficult in overcast conditions.

Siriwardene (31 off 33 balls), who also took two wickets and was player of the match, has looked like Sri Lanka’s best batter this tournament. 

After gauging the conditions early on, she started to hit over the infield into unprotected areas, striking one six in her stay. 

With De Silva (12 off nine balls), she put on a 31-run partnership, the highest of the match, before both were dismissed in the last over by Jahanara.

With the slow outfield and Bangladesh’s fragile batting, that total proved enough. 

Sri Lanka will now play the host West Indies Friday. 

Bangladesh will now look to win their remaining game against South Africa Monday, failing which they will have to once again play the Qualifiers to earn a place at the World T20 in Australia in two years’ time.



Mendis b Jahanara             0    1

Perera c Salma b Kubra        9    14

Surangika run out (Jahanara/Kubra)    16    32

Jayangani c & b Fahima         12    16

Siriwardene b Jahanara         31    33

Kaushalya c Ayasha b Rumana     9    14

De Silva c Ayasha b Jahanara         12    9

Weerakkody not out            1    1

Extras (b 2, w 5)            7 

Total (20 Overs)            97/7 

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Mendis), 2-23 (Perera), 3-30 (Surangika), 4-49 (Jayangani), 5-65 (Kaushalya), 6-96 (Siriwardene), 7-97 (De Silva)


Jahanara 4-0-21-3, Salma 4-0-11-0, Kubra 4-0-15-1, Rumana 4-0-26-1, Fahima 3-0-16-1, Ritu 1-0-6-0


Sanjida lbw b Prabodhani        0    1

Ayasha c Jayangani b Ranasinghe    11    21

Fargana lbw b Prabodhani        0    3

Nigar run out (†Surangika)        20    41

Rumana c Kaushalya b Siriwardene    1    5

Shamima b Fernando            5    14

Jahanara lbw b Jayangani        1    3

Salma c De Silva b Siriwardene    6    10

Fahima lbw b Jayangani        2    5

Ritu b Jayangani            11    13

Kubra not out                4    4

Extras (w 11)                11 

Total (20 Overs)            72 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Sanjida), 2-0 (Fargana), 3-20 (Ayasha), 4-23 (Rumana), 5-36 (Shamima), 6-44 (Jahanara), 7-47 (Nigar), 8-51 (Fahima), 9-60 (Salma), 10-72 (Ritu)


Prabodhani 2.5-1-6-2, Weerakkody 2-0-9-0, Fernando 4-0-17-1, De Silva 0.1-0-4-0, Ranasinghe 4-0-9-1, Siriwardene 4-0-10-2, Jayangani 3-0-17-3

Sri Lanka women won by 25 runs

PoM: Shashikala Siriwardene


Bangladesh women v SA women, 6am

The game will be held in Gros Islet


Teams    M    W    L    Pts    NRR

WI    2    2    0    4    2.275

Eng    2    1    0    3    2.799

SL    3    1    1    3    0.381

SA    2    1    1    2    -0.527

BD    3    0    3    0    -2.162

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail