• Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Jahanara urges to keep faith on them

  • Published at 01:30 pm November 15th, 2018
Bangladesh's Jahanara Alam celebrates cleaning up Sri Lanka's Yasoda Mendis during their World T20I match in St Lucia Thursday ICC

Bangladesh will close out their campaign with the South Africa game Monday, and need a win to have any chance of not finishing bottom of the group

Bangladesh women’s team all-rounder Jahanara Alam urged to keep faith on the side despite their third consecutive defeat at the World T20I, against Sri Lanka, in St Lucia Wednesday.

“Don’t lose hope on us, please keep faith on us,” said Jahanara at a message to her team’s fans.

"We restricted them to 98, this was a good total to chase, and we have a good batting side,” she said afterwards. 

“I am very disappointed we couldn’t click with the bat,” added Jahanara. 

With the top four sides of each group automatically entering the World T20I in 2020, the loss dented one of Bangladesh’s aims of avoiding the qualifiers the next time around.

“We had a goal that we don’t want to play any more T20I qualifiers,” a disappointed Jahanara said. 

“But we still have a chance to increase our ranking if we win against South Africa. Who knows, something can happen, cricket is an unpredictable game.”

Bangladesh will close out their campaign with the South Africa game Monday, and need a win to have any chance of not finishing bottom of the group.



Mendis b Jahanara             0    1

Perera c Salma b Kubra        9    14

Surangika run out (Jahanara/Kubra)    16    32

Jayangani c & b Fahima         12    16

Siriwardene b Jahanara         31    33

Kaushalya c Ayasha b Rumana     9    14

De Silva c Ayasha b Jahanara         12    9

Weerakkody not out            1    1

Extras (b 2, w 5)            7 

Total (20 Overs)            97/7 

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Mendis), 2-23 (Perera), 3-30 (Surangika), 4-49 (Jayangani), 5-65 (Kaushalya), 6-96 (Siriwardene), 7-97 (De Silva)


Jahanara 4-0-21-3, Salma 4-0-11-0, Kubra 4-0-15-1, Rumana 4-0-26-1, Fahima 3-0-16-1, Ritu 1-0-6-0


Sanjida lbw b Prabodhani        0    1

Ayasha c Jayangani b Ranasinghe    11    21

Fargana lbw b Prabodhani        0    3

Nigar run out (†Surangika)        20    41

Rumana c Kaushalya b Siriwardene    1    5

Shamima b Fernando            5    14

Jahanara lbw b Jayangani        1    3

Salma c De Silva b Siriwardene    6    10

Fahima lbw b Jayangani        2    5

Ritu b Jayangani            11    13

Kubra not out                4    4

Extras (w 11)                11 

Total (20 Overs)            72 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Sanjida), 2-0 (Fargana), 3-20 (Ayasha), 4-23 (Rumana), 5-36 (Shamima), 6-44 (Jahanara), 7-47 (Nigar), 8-51 (Fahima), 9-60 (Salma), 10-72 (Ritu)


Prabodhani 2.5-1-6-2, Weerakkody 2-0-9-0, Fernando 4-0-17-1, De Silva 0.1-0-4-0, Ranasinghe 4-0-9-1, Siriwardene 4-0-10-2, Jayangani 3-0-17-3

Sri Lanka women won by 25 runs

PoM: Shashikala Siriwardene

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail