• Thursday, Feb 09, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:24 am

WI captain laments poor shot selections

  • Published at 04:35 pm December 14th, 2018
Ban v WI
The West Indies’ Marlon Samuels is cleaned up during their third ODI against Bangladesh in Sylhet Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

“Hope batted beautifully throughout the entire series. We have to say congratulations to him. But through the entire series the batting unit didn’t stand; it has been a problem for us over the last few series,” said Powell

West Indies ODI captain Rovman Powell thought they failed to read the pitch, as well as shot selection let them down.

The Windies lost the third and final match of the three-ODI series Friday at Sylhet International Stadium by eight wickets to lose the series 2-1.

West Indies batsman Shai Hope, who remained not out 146 to guide their side in their only win in the second ODI, once again scored an unbeaten century but other batsmen were totally lacklustre as the visitor could compile only 198 runs on the board. 

“Hope batted beautifully throughout the entire series. We have to say congratulations to him. But through the entire series the batting unit didn’t stand; it has been a problem for us over the last few series,” said Powell after the match that saw the Windies lose yet another ODI series as they last won a series way back in 2014 at home against Bangladesh.

West Indies decided to drop their fastest bowler Oshane Thomas, and also lost Kemar Roach to injury and Powell is of the opinion they misread the pitch completely. 

“To be honest we didn’t expect the wicket to play this good. It was a good wicket; it was a good 50-over wicket. We expected maybe a little bit more spin but we didn’t get much,” said Powell.

“We have misread the pitch. If we hadn’t misread the wicket we wouldn’t have dropped Thomas. He is our fastest bowler and I think we needed him on that wicket. It’s just one of those things, we thought the wicket will spin a little bit more and it didn’t spin,” said Powell.

The skipper’s dismissal created some controversy as the West Indies’ Carlos Brathwaite came to the field to argue with the umpire following Powell’s caught behind decision. 

It was revealed that Bangladesh at that time set six fielders on the onside, a violation of ICC’s clause 28.4 but neither umpire nor the players in the ground could spot that. 

He ultimately walked to the pavilion and later said he accepted the decision as a human error. 

Powell stood in as captain due to the absence of regular skipper Jason Holder and he will leave the baton to lead the West Indies T20I side, the current world champion, to Brathwaite. 

He thought the Windies will bounce back strong in their most favourite format. 

“West Indies are T20I champion. We have a very good T20I team. We just have to get familiar with conditions. We know that there is a lot of dew and it is a good wicket. We will come out and play the brand of cricket that West Indies want to play,” said Powell.



Hemraj c Mithun b Miraz    9    17

Hope not out            108    131

Bravo b Miraz            10    26

Samuels b Saifuddin        19    32

Hetmyer lbw b Miraz        0    6

Powell c Mushfiq b Miraz    1    9

Chase c Soumya b Shakib     8    20

Allen c Mithun b Shakib     6    17

Paul b Mashrafe         12    22

Roach lbw b Mashrafe     3    8

Bishoo not out            6    12

Extras (b 1, lb 4, w 6, pen 5)    16 

Total (50 Overs)        198/9 

Fall Of Wickets

1-15 (Hemraj), 2-57 (Bravo), 3-96 (Samuels), 4-97 (Hetmyer), 5-99 (Powell), 6-133 (Chase), 7-143 (Allen), 8-171 (Paul), 9-177 (Roach)


Mustafizur 10-1-33-0, Miraz 10-1-29-4, Shakib 9-0-40-2, Mashrafe 9-1-34-2, Saifuddin 9-0-38-1, Mahmudullah 3-0-14-0


Tamim not out        81    104

Liton c Powell b Paul        23    33

Soumya b Paul            80    81

Mushfiq not out        16    14

Extras (nb 1, w 1)        2 

Total (38.3 Overs)        202/2 

Fall Of Wickets

1-45 (Liton), 2-176 (Soumya)


Roach 3-0-16-0, Chase 8-0-32-0, Paul 7-0-38-2, Samuels 4-0-25-0, Bishoo 9-0-48-0, Allen 4-0-22-0, Powell 3.3-0-21-0

Bangladesh won by eight wickets, clinch series 2-1

MoM: Mehedi Hasan Miraz

MoS: Shai Hope

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail