• Tuesday, Aug 09, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Comilla rise to third after beating Rajshahi

  • Published at 11:19 pm January 11th, 2019
Rajshahi Kings’ Soumya Sarkar is cleaned up during their BPL match against Comilla Victorians in Mirpur Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Afridi remained unbeaten to finish the match for Comilla, and was later adjudged man-of-the match

Comilla secured their second win of the BPL 6 season, defeating Rajshahi Kings by five wickets in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Friday.

Chasing a moderate target of 125, Comilla reached their target within 18.4 overs.

Opener Anamul Haque Bijoy was the top-scorer with 40 runs, while Evin Lewis and Tamim Iqbal scored 28 and 21 respectively.

Earlier, Rajshahi lost their way in the middle stage of the innings as they lost regular wickets which halted them from posting a good total. Rajshahi skipper Mehedi Hasan Miraz surprisingly came to open the innings for the Kings and scored 30 off 17 balls with half a dozen boundaries.

But from 52 for two, Rajshahi were reduced to 63 for seven, and that halted them from scoring big. 

Pacer Isuru Udana scored some useful runs in the last few overs to take the score past the 120-mark.

Eventually, they were all out for 124 in 18.5 overs.

Pakistani leg-spinner Shahid Afridi was the main destroyer for Comilla as he broke Rajshahi’s middle-order resistance. 

Afridi finished the match with bowling figure of 3/10 in his fours overs, including one maiden.

Abu Haider, Saifuddin and Liam Dawson took two wickets each for Comilla.

Afridi remained unbeaten to finish the match for Comilla, and was later adjudged man-of-the match.



Mominul lbw b Saifuddin    3    7

Miraz lbw b Afridi        30    17

Soumya b Saifuddin        0    1

Hafeez b Dawson        16    17

Zakir lbw b Dawson        27    26

Evans lbw b Afridi        0    1

Fazle run out (Lewis/Anamul)    3    6

Qais b Afridi            0    1

Udana c Mahedi b Haider    32    30

Arafat c Afridi b Haider    4    8

Mustafizur not out        1    1

Extras  (lb 1, nb 2, w 5)    8

Total (18.5 Overs)        124

Fall Of Wickets

1-20 (Mominul), 2-20 (Soumya), 3-53 (Hafeez), 4-53 (Miraz), 5-53 (Evans), 6-62 (Fazle), 7-63 (Qais), 8-93 (Zakir), 9-108 (Arafat), 10-124 (Udana)


Haider 2.5-0-37-2, Mahedi 4-0-22-0, Saifuddin 3-0-25-2, Shahid 1-0-12-0, Dawson 4-0-17-2, Afridi 4-1-10-3    


Anamul run out (Udana)    40    32

Lewis c Mominul b Qais     28    21

Tamim c Evans b Miraz    21    25

Imrul lbw b Mustafizur     6    12

Malik run out (Udana/Zakir)    2     8

Shahid Afridi not out        9    5

Dawson not out        12    9

Extras (lb 5, w 7)        12

Total (18.4 Overs)        130/5

Fall Of Wickets 

1-65 (Lewis), 2-87 (Anamul), 3-101 (Tamim), 4-109 (Malik), 5-109 (Imrul)


Miraz 4-0-33-1, Hafeez 3-0-20-0, Arafat 1-0-7-0, Qais 4-0-21-1, Mustafizur 3.4-0-24-1,  Udana 3-0-20-0                        

Comilla Victorians won by 5 wickets 

MoM: Shahid Afridi (CV)