• Wednesday, Jan 19, 2022
  • Last Update : 03:32 am

Mashrafe opens batting with Gayle

  • Published at 09:08 pm January 13th, 2019
Rangpur Riders' Mashrafe bin Mortaza trudges back to the dressing room during their BPL match against Rajshahi Kings in Mirpur Sunday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Previously, Mashrafe bin Mortaza did not open the batting in BPL, or in any international game for that matter, and the fans were excited to see the right-hander come out to bat

Rangpur Riders made a surprise call in their batting line-up as captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza went to open the batting alongside the West Indian Chris Gayle. 

Previously, Mashrafe did not open the batting in BPL, or in any international game for that matter, and the fans were excited to see the right-hander come out to bat. 

With Rangpur chasing 136, Mashrafe’s surprising decision did not work as he got out off the second ball he faced against Rajshahi Kings pacer Kamrul Islam Rabbi.

It was a good delivery from Rabbi as it had some extra bounce just outside the off-stump. 

Mashrafe tried to defend it only to get an edge, and it was a regulation catch by wicket-keeper Zakir Hasan to finish the excitement of Mashrafe opening the batting.

After the game, Mashrafe said, "We didn’t pick any openers (Sunday) (other than Gayle). Either Farhad Reza or myself had to open. Since they (Rajshahi) had a left-handed batsman (Mominul Haque), we picked Nahidul (Islam) as an off-spinner. So someone had to open. That’s why I went to open.

"This is not a big deal. It’s not an issue. We were determined that even if they score 60, I would open. It was our thinking."



Mominul st Mithun b Gazi    14    16

Miraz c Shafiul b Mashrafe     0    1

Soumya c Farhad b Mashrafe 18    13

Hafeez run out (Bopara)    26    29

Zakir not out            42    36

Evans c Bopara b Farhad     2    7

Doeschate run out (Farhad)    14    10

Udana c Gazi b Farhad     8    5

Arafat b Shafiul         1    2

Rabbi not out            1    1

Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 5)        9 

Total (20 Overs)        135/8 

Fall Of Wickets

1-6 (Miraz), 2-33 (Mominul), 3-36 (Soumya), 4-90 (Hafeez), 5-96 (Evans), 6-112 (Doeschate), 7-130 (Udana), 8-133 (Arafat)


Gazi 3-0-25-1, Mashrafe 4-0-22-2, Nahidul 2-0-14-0, Nazmul 2-0-14-0, Howell 3-0-20-0, Shafiul 4-0-19-1, Farhad 2-0-17-2


Gayle c Soumya b Rabbi    23    14

Mashrafe c Zakir b Rabbi    0    2

Mithun c Evans b Hafeez    30    31

Rossouw not out        44    46

Bopara b Hafeez        1    5

Howell run out (Mominul)    4    6

Nahidul c Soumya b Udana    16    12

Farhad not out        0    4

Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 2, pen 5)    11 

Total (20 Overs)        129/6 

Fall Of Wickets

1-2 (Mashrafe), 2-31 (Gayle), 3-71 (Mithun), 4-83 (Bopara), 5-92 (Howell), 6-126 (Nahidul)


Rabbi 2-0-22-2, Miraz 4-0-25-0, Udana 4-0-22-1, Mustafizur 4-0-17-0, Arafat 2-0-12-0, Hafeez 4-0-22-2

Rajshahi Kings won by five runs

MoM: Zakir Hasan (RK)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail