• Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Spin twins set up crushing victory for India over New Zealand

  • Published at 01:23 pm January 23rd, 2019
Virat Kohli
India's Virat Kohli plays a shot against New Zealand during their first ODI at Napier

India arrived at the ground with captain Virat Kohli expecting 300-plus to be par but when his bowlers rolled New Zealand for 157 the outcome became a formality

A match billed as a runfest was turned upside-down by India's spin twins Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal on Wednesday, as New Zealand were crushed by eight wickets in the first one-day international in Napier. 

India arrived at the ground with captain Virat Kohli expecting 300-plus to be par but when his bowlers rolled New Zealand for 157 the outcome became a formality.

"When I lost the toss I thought it's going to be 300 plus but the way the guys bowled and created pressure turned out to be absolutely opposite," he said.

"You know, 150 on that kind of a wicket was quite an easy total to chase down and it all boils down to the effort of the bowlers."

Yadav and Chahal delivered a spin bowling masterclass, mesmerising New Zealand with six wickets between them, while Mohammed Shami claimed three as New Zealand folded for a mere 157 with 12 overs to spare. 

The target was reduced by two runs and one over for India following a 30-minute break when the setting sun blinded the eyes of players and umpires.

But the interruption made no difference to Shikhar Dhawan, who was unbeaten on 75 after leading India to mow down the target in 34.5 overs.

A disappointed New Zealand captain Kane Williamson blamed his side's effort on an inability to handle the precision Indian attack.

"Usually you come here and you're thinking 300-plus, sometimes mid 300s, but it certainly wans't that and required a bit more graft," he said.

"Judging by some of the dismissals it showed we didn't adjust as quickly as we would like to."

Coming off a series win against Australia, India showed they are building nicely as a well-balanced unit four months out from the World Cup, while for New Zealand there is work to be done. 

The New Zealand innings folded so quickly that India had time to bat for nine overs before the scheduled break, reaching 41 with Dhawan on 29 and Sharma on 11. 

Sharma went on the second ball after the interval, with Doug Bracewell making the breakthrough, before the players left the field again when the setting sun reached a dangerously low angle. 

When India's innings restarted again, Dhawan on 31 was dropped by wicketkeeper Tom Latham.

It was a costly error for New Zealand as the left-hander, who passed 5,000 ODI runs in the course of the innings, went on to make his 26th half century. 

Kohli, a day after becoming the first player to clinch all three top International CricketCouncil honours including cricketer of the year, was caught behind for 45. Ambati Rayudu finished not out 13.

When New Zealand elected to bat, it took Shami only eight deliveries to clean out openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro before Yadav and Chahal worked their magic. 

Ross Taylor's run of six successive half-centuries came to an end when he was caught and bowled by Chahal for 24. 

Tom Latham, reputedly New Zealand's best player of spin, went the same way for 11.

Williamson, so often saddled with the task of rescuing his side, reached 64 before he fell to Yadav.

New Zealand were then 146 for seven, with the last three wickets adding only 11 more runs.

Yadav finished with four for 39, Chahal took two for 43, while Shami had three for 19 off six overs.

The second match in the five-match series is on Saturday in Mount Maunganui.

New Zealand Innings                                     

                                                             R             B

Guptill b Shami                                  5              9

Munro b Shami                                  8              9

Williamson c Shankar b Yadav       64           81

Taylor c&b Chahal                             24           41

Latham c&b Chahal                          11           10

Nicholls c Yadav b Jadhav              12           17

Santner lbw Shami                            14           21

Bracewell b Yadav                              7              15

Southee not out                                  9              12

Ferguson st Dhoni b Yadav               0              3

Boult c Sharma b Yadav                    1              10

Extras (2wd)                                        2

Total (38 overs)                                 157

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Guptill), 2-18 (Munro), 3-52 (Taylor), 4-76 (Latham), 5-107 (Nicholls), 6-133 (Santner), 7-146 (Williamson), 8-146 (Bracewell), 9-148 (Ferguson), 10-157 (Boult)

Bowling: Kumar 5-0-20-0, Shami 6-2-19-3 (1w), Shankar 4-0-19-0, Chahal 10-0-43-2 (1w), Yadav 10-1-39-4, Jadhav 3-0-17-1

India Innings                                      

                                                             R             B

Sharma c Guptill b Bracewell          11           24

Dhawan not out                                 75           103

Kohli c Latham b Ferguson              45           59

Rayudu not out                                   13           23

Extras (5lb,7wd)                                 12

Total (34.5 overs)                             156/2 

Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Sharma), 2-132 (Kohli)

Bowling: Boult 6-1-19-0, Southee 6.5-0-36-0, Ferguson 8-0-41-1 (3w), Bracewell 7-0-23-1 (1w), Santner 7-0-32-0 (2w)

Result: India won by eight wickets

MoM: Mohammed Shami (India) 

Target reduced to 156 after 30 minutes lost because of sun in players' eyes 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail