• Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Lewis punches Comilla’s ticket to BPL final

  • Published at 04:33 pm February 4th, 2019
Evin Lewis
Comilla Victorians batsman Evin Lewis plays a shot against Rangpur Riders during their BPL T20 qualifier at Mirpur Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Chasing 166, Comilla reached their target losing only two wickets with seven balls to spare

Comilla Victorians produced a commanding display of batting and defeated Rangpur Riders by eight wickets to reach the final of the BPL 6 at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national stadium on Monday.

Chasing 166, Comilla reached their target losing only two wickets with seven balls to spare.

Opener Evin Lewis led the chase with an unbeaten 71-run innings. The other opener Tamim Iqbal scored 17. While Anamul Haque Bijoy scored 39 and Shamsur Rahman Shuvo played a little cameo of 34 ff just 15 balls to ensure victory for the Victorians.

Earlier, Rangpur scored 165 losing five wickets riding on Benny Howell’s brilliant 53 off 28 balls. In form Rilee Rossouw scored 44 while Chris Gayle scored 46 for the Riders.

Evin Lewis was adjudged man-of-the-match for his unbeaten 71 run innings.     

Mithun sacrifices his wicket for Gayle

Rangpur got off to a slow start against Comilla and a mix-up between Mohammad Mithun and Chris Gayle cost them a wicket in the sixth over. Gayle played a sweep and tried to take a single but hesitation between the two batsmen caused a run-out as Mithun ran to wicket-keeper’s end despite knowing he would not make it. Perhaps he sacrificed his wicket for big-hitter Gayle. Meanwhile, the keeper threw to other end after dislodging the bails in Mithun’s end and Gayle was also run-out in the bowler’s end. But Mithun was run out first, so Gayle survived. Eventually Gayle scored 46 off 44 balls.

Wahab drops Rossouw 

Fielding was sloppy from Comilla as they dropped a few catches and conceded some extra runs which helped Rangpur produce a good total in the end. Perhaps Wahab Riaz’s missed catch was the most costly one as the Pakistani dropped in-form Rilee Rossouw. Rossouw was batting on 19 off 17 balls and Rangpur were 80 for 4 after 13 overs. The wicket of Rossouw could have dented Rangpur’s charge then but eventually Rossouw scored 44 and formed a crucial 76-run partnership with Benny Howell.

Howell scores a vital half-century

There was no AB de Villiers or Alex Hales for Rangpur and they had a slow start against Comilla in the first qualifier. But all-rounder Benny Howell played an outstanding innings to help Rangpur post a challenging 165 runs on the board. Howell formed a vital partnership with Rossouw and took the charge to score some quick runs in the slog overs. He remained unbeaten on 53 off just 28 balls with three fours and five sixes.

Lewis-Anamul lead the way for Comilla

Comilla opener Evin Lewis played a superb knock and guided his team to reach the target with seven balls to spare. Lewis formed a 90-run partnership with Anamul Haque for the second wicket and that partnership helped Comilla chase down a challenging total. The 90-run partnership came in 62 balls. Anamul got out after scoring 39 off 32 balls with two fours and two sixes but Lewis ensured the win by remaining not out in the end and scored 71 off 53 balls with five fours and three sixes.

BPL standing

Comilla now qualified for the final while Rangpur Riders will face Dhaka Dynamites in the second eliminator on Wednesday.  



Gayle c Perera b Mahedi               46        44

Maruf c Sanjit b Wahab                  1          3

Mithun run out (Tamim)                  3          3

Rossouw c Anamul b Saifuddin    44       31

Bopara c Anamul b Sanjit                3          9

Howell not out                                  53        28

Nahidul not out                                 6          3

Extras (b 5, lb 1, nb 1, w 2)     9 

Total (20 Overs)                      165/5

Fall Of Wickets

1-17 (Maruf), 2-34 (Mithun), 3-67 (Gayle), 4-76 (Bopara), 5-146 (Rossouw)


Saifuddin 4-0-42-1, Mahedi 4-0-28-1, Wahab 4-0-49-1, Sanjit 4-0-14-1, Afridi 3-0-19-0, Perera 1-0-7-0


Tamim c Howell b Mashrafe                17        14

Lewis not out                                          71        53

Anamul b Shafiul                                    39        32

Shamsur not out                                    34        15

Extras (lb 1, nb 1, w 3)                             5 

Total (18.5 Overs)                               166/2 

Fall Of Wickets

1-35 (Tamim), 2-125 (Anamul)


Nahidul 3-0-18-0, Gazi 2-0-15-0, Mashrafe 4-0-43-1, Farhad 2.5-0-29-0, Howell 2-0-19-0, Shafiul 3-0-21-1, Bopara 2-0-20-0

Comilla Victorians won by eight wickets

MoM: Evin Lewis (CV)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail