• Friday, Jul 01, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Tamim: It feels like I am still dreaming

  • Published at 02:03 am February 9th, 2019
Comilla Victorians' Tamim Iqbal celebrates reaching his century during their BPL final against Dhaka Dynamites in Mirpur Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The left-handed batsman smashed 10 fours and 11 sixes as the Comilla Victorians prevailed by 17 runs to lift their second ever BPL title

Comilla Victorians’ player of the BPL 6 final Tamim Iqbal said he is still in dreamland after his whirlwind 61-ball 141 helped his side to victory against Dhaka Dynamites at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Friday.

The left-handed batsman smashed 10 fours and 11 sixes as the Victorians prevailed by 17 runs to lift their second ever BPL title.

“To be honest, I feel I am still dreaming. I still don’t know how I batted. I think I can explain better after I see the highlights. At one stage I got very pissed when [Anamul Haque] Bijoy got out. I had to calm myself down and start again. I am sure that when I see the highlights, I can say it better,” he said during the post-match press conference after the grand finale.

“I was giving the team a positive vibe. I honestly never thought I’d play such a knock but I think I planned it really nicely. I didn’t want to give a wicket to Shakib [al Hasan] and [Sunil] Narine, who were Dhaka’s most successful bowlers. I hardly took any risk against Narine apart from one six. It was an unbelievably good wicket so I backed myself against the pacers,” he added.



Tamim not out            141    61

Lewis lbw b Rubel Hossain        6    7

Anamul lbw b Shakib             24    30

Shamsur run out (Shakib)        0    1

Imrul not out                17    21

Extras (lb 6, w 5)            11 

Total (20 Overs)            199/3 

Fall Of Wickets

1-9 (Lewis), 2-98 (Anamul), 3-99 (Shamsur)


Russell 4-0-37-0, Rubel 4-0-48-1, Shakib 4-0-45-1, Narine 4-0-18-0, Onik 2-0-19-0, Shuvagata 1-0-14-0, Mahmudul 1-0-12-0


Tharanga c sub (Haider) b Perera    48    27

Narine run out (Saifuddin)        0    0

Rony run out (Anamul)        66    38

Shakib c Tamim b Wahab         3    5

Pollard c Tamim b Wahab         13    15

Russell c Wahab b Perera        4    3

Nurul c Anamul b Wahab         18    15

Shuvagata c Perera b Saifuddin    0    2

Mahmudul c Wahab b Saifuddin    15    8

Rubel not out                5    5

Onik not out                1    2

Extras (lb 4, w 5)             9

Total (20 Overs)             182/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Narine), 2-102 (Tharanga), 3-120 (Shakib), 4-121 (Rony), 5-132 (Russell), 6-141 (Pollard), 7-143 (Shuvagata), 8-173 (Nurul), 9-180 (Mahmudul)


Saifuddin 4-0-38-2, Mahedi 3-0-30-0, Wahab 4-0-28-3, Sanjit 1-0-10-0, Afridi 4-0-37-0, Perera 4-0-35-2 

Comilla Victorians won by 17 runs

MoM: Tamim Iqbal (CV)

MoS: Shakib al Hasan (DD)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail