• Tuesday, Nov 29, 2022
  • Last Update : 09:54 am

Abahani, Rupganj on top, Doleshwar win thriller

  • Published at 04:05 pm April 1st, 2019
Imran Uzzaman
Doleshwar's Imran Uzzaman plays a shot during their DPL match against Sheikh Jamal in Mirpur Monday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The most exciting contest was witnessed when Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club clinched a thriller as they claimed a one-run victory against Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited in the run-fest at their curtailed encounter in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Abahani Limited and Legends of Rupganj continued their winning run in the DPL and the top two sides of the points table ensured their Super Six berth after round eight thanks to their respective seventh wins which they got at two different games Monday.

But the most exciting contest was witnessed in the other match of the day when Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club clinched a thriller as they claimed a one-run victory against Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited in the run-fest at their curtailed encounter in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Doleshwar v Sk Jamal

The game was curtailed to 26 overs per side due to wet outfield and it started around 1:15pm local time. 

Sheikh Jamal won the toss and elected to field first.

Doleshwar openers Imran Uzzaman and Saif Hasan made a good start with a 97-run opening stand before the latter was dismissed for 36.

Imran however, continued his onslaught, scoring 75 off 54 balls, and got good support from one-down Saaad Nasim as the Pakistani made 51 off 36.

But captain Farhad Reza played the most aggressive innings and scored the fastest half-century in DPL history. 

The 32-year old all-rounder smashed all around the park to improve the previous record by one ball.

Farhad’s whirlwind 56 off just 20 balls helped Doleshwar reach 239 and set up an asking rate of over nine for Jamal from the outset.

In reply, Sheikh Jamal lost early wickets and at one stage were reduced to 64 for three in the eighth over.

But captain Nurul Hasan (37) and Anustup Majumdar (44) formed a 64-run stand and Ziaur Rahman later played a swashbuckling innings of 46 off 21 balls to keep the chase on track.

But Ziaur was dismissed in the final ball of the 20th over and despite a valiant effort by Tanbir Hayder, who made 36 off 25, they felt agonisingly short as they finished on 238/9, conceding the narrowest of defeats.

The cliffhanger kept its intensity till the last ball as Sheikh Jamal needed six but Khaled Ahmed could only find an edge and the ball rolled past the wicket-keeper to reach the fence, sparking huge celebration among the Doleshwar outfit.  

Abahani v Khelaghar

Abahani were all out for 264 runs in 48.4 overs against Khelaghar at BKSP, Savar. 

No 3 batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto was the top-scorer with 60.

Sabbir Rahman scored 49 while Mehedi Hasan Miraz made 47.

Khelaghar’s Robiul Haque bagged five wickets giving away 64 runs while Irfan Hossain took three.

In pursuit, Khelaghar were bundled out for just 132 runs in 32.5 overs. 

Mosaddek Iftekhar scored an unbeaten 36 while opener Shahriar Komol made 32.

Abahani spinner Sanjamul Islam notched four wickets while Miraz and Nazmul Islam picked up two apiece.     

Shanto was adjudged man of the match.

Rupganj v BKSP

Batting first BKSP managed to score 181 runs losing nine wickets in their stipulated 50 overs. 

Shamim Hossain was the highest scorer with 52.

Indian all-rounder Rishi Dhawan took five wickets leaking 51 runs for Rupganj.

Chasing a modest target, Rupganj lost five wickets but reached their target in 45 overs. 

No 3 batsman Mominul Haque scored 93 with the help of eight fours and a couple of sixes.

Dhawan was adjudged player of the match.



Khelaghar 130 in 32.5 overs (Mosaddek 36, Sanjamul 4/36) lost to Abahani 262 in 48.4 overs (Shanto 60, Robiul 5/64) by 132 runs


Rupganj 182/5 in 45 overs (Mominul 93, Naeem 31) beat BKSP 181/9 (Shamim 52, Dhawan 5/51) by five wickets


Sk Jamal 238/9 in 26 overs (Ziaur 46, Anustup 44) lost to Doleshwar 239/6 in 26 overs (Imran 75, Farhad 56) by one run

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail