• Friday, Dec 09, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Baki named BSPA sportsman of the year

  • Published at 07:45 pm April 6th, 2019
Winners of the BSPA Sports Awards pose for photographs during the gala programme in Dhaka Saturday BSPA

The announcement came at the gala programme of Kool-BSPA Sports Award 2018 at a city hotel Saturday amid the presence of many dignitaries and sports personnel

Bangladesh Sports Press Association selected shooter Abdullah Hel Baki as the sportsman of the year for 2018. 

The announcement came at the gala programme of Kool-BSPA Sports Award 2018 at a city hotel Saturday amid the presence of many dignitaries and sports personnel.

Baki got the accolade thanks to his silver medal winning performance at the Commonwealth Games that was held in Gold Coast. 

The shooter, who got the award back in 2014 for getting silver at Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, was selected over cricketer Mushfiqur Rahim and women’s cricketer Rumana Ahmed from the short list. 

He also won the best shooter of the year award.  

On the other hand, cricketer Tamim Iqbal got the most number of votes to be the winner of popular choice award, surpassing Rumana, Mushfiq and Baki. 

The southpaw, who showed fairy tale like heroics in the Asia Cup in the UAE last year, was showered with love of the sports lovers in the voting. 

Mushfiq won the best cricketer of the year award while Topu Barman won the best footballer of the year prize.

BCB president Nazmul Hasan won the best organiser of the year award while Bashundhara Group was selected as the best sponsor of the year in 2018.

Nazmun Nahar Beauty, a former athlete, was given special recognition award for her contribution to the country’s sports.  

Shapla Akhter was awarded with best badminton player of the year while footballer Sirat Jahan Sopna and tennis player Mehedi Hasan Alvi were jointly presented with emerging sportsperson of the year award.

Golam Rabbani Choton won best coach of the year while hockey coach Fazlul Islam and orgainser Mansur Ali were jointly named as the grassroot sports personality in 2018.

Minister of the Ministry of Agriculture Dr. Mohammad Abdur Razzak MP was present as the chief guest while State Minister of Youth and Sports Jahid Ahsan Russell and Bangladesh Olympic Association’s vice-president Anjan Chowdhury were present as special guests during the occasion.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail