• Tuesday, Jun 28, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Challengers top as Thunder lose 4 in a row

  • Published at 10:37 pm December 17th, 2019
Sylhet Thunder’s Rony Talukdar is cleaned up during their BBPL match against Chattogram Challengers in Chittagong Tuesday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The Thunder in contrast, are pointless and second from bottom after losing their fourth game in succession, at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong

It was contrasting fortunes for Chattogram Challengers and Sylhet Thunder in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 Tuesday as the former registered a four-wicket win to rise to the top of the seven-team standing with six points from four matches.

The Thunder in contrast, are pointless and second from bottom after losing their fourth game in succession, at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.

Playing their first BBPL match in the port city, the Challengers fielded first and restricted the Thunder to 129 for the loss of eight wickets in their stipulated 20 overs.

Left-arm seamer Mehedi Hasan Rana bagged four wickets, while right-arm pacer Rubel Hossain picked up two for the Challengers.

Thunder opener Andre Fletcher top-scored for his side with 38, while captain Mosaddek Hossain chipped in with 30.

In reply, the Challengers reached their destination with two overs to spare, but not before suffering some early hiccups.

Challengers opener Lendl Simmons (44) and wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan (37 not out) though recovered the early damage, while lower-order batsman Kesrick Williams was unbeaten at the end on 18.

Thunder left-arm seamer Krishmar Santokie, who has been in the headlines recently for his wayward no-ball and wide early in the BBPL, took three wickets. 



Rony b Rana            2    9

Fletcher b Muktar         38    32

Shafiqullah c Nurul b Rubel     6    6

Mithun c Nasum b Rana        15    17

Charles c Nurul b Rana        3    9

Mosaddek b Williams        30    22

Nayeem c Rana b Rubel         11    16

Delwar not out            7    4

Santokie c Imrul b Rana        9    6

Nazmul not out            0    0

Extras (lb 4, nb 1, w 3)        8 

Total (20 Overs)            129/8 

Fall Of Wickets

1-13 (Rony), 2-23 (Shafiqullah), 3-62 (Fletcher), 4-69 (Mithun), 5-69 (Charles), 6-109 (Nayeem), 7-113 (Mosaddek), 8-127 (Santokie)


Nasum 4-1-17-0, Rubel 4-0-28-2, Rana 4-1-23-4, Muktar 4-0-26-1, Williams 4-0-31-1


Simmons run out (Shafiqullah/Mithun)    44    37

Fernando b Santokie            5    5

Imrul c sub (Mazid) b Santokie        6    7

Mahmudullah b Ebadat             2    3

Walton c Charles b Delwar         9    12

Nurul not out                37    24

Muktar lbw b Santokie            0    3

Williams not out            18    17

Extras (b 2, lb 4, w 3)            9

Total (18 Overs)                130/6    

Fall Of Wickets

1-12 (Fernando), 2-24 (Imrul), 3-34 (Mahmudullah), 4-56 (Walton), 5-84 (Simmons), 6-85 (Muktar)


Nazmul 4-0-34-0, Santokie 4-0-13-3, Ebadat 4-1-28-1, Delwar 4-0-31-1, Nayeem 2-0-18-0

Chattogram Challengers won by four wickets

MoM: Mehedi Hasan Rana (CC)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail