• Wednesday, Jul 06, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Khulna trounce hapless Sylhet

  • Published at 10:49 pm December 28th, 2019
Khulna Tigers' Mehedi Hasan Miraz plays a shot during their BBPL match against Sylhet Thunder in Mirpur Saturday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Khulna openers Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Nazmul Hossain Shanto were superb as they put on 115 in just 12.2 overs

The Khulna Tigers have defeated Sylhet Thunder in comprehensive fashion, chasing down the 158-run target in 17.5  overs for the loss just two wickets in their Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League T20 match at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Saturday.

Khulna openers Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Nazmul Hossain Shanto were superb as they put on 115 in just 12.2 overs.

Shanto scored 41 off 31 deliveries before departing in the 13th over. 

Miraz was brilliant until the end, the makeshift opener scoring an unbeaten 87 off 62 deliveries, smashing nine boundaries and three sixes.  

This is the fifth win for Khulna from seven matches as they remain third in the points table, behind Chattogram Challengers and Rajshahi Royals.

Earlier, Sylhet posted 157 on the board, riding on a good start from opening pair Andre Fletcher and Rubel Mia.

Fletcher was particularly impressive, as the right-hander scored 37 off 24 balls with four fours and two sixes. 

Rubel struggled a little bit in the beginning, but ended up scoring 39 off 44 deliveries.

The Sylhet middle-order batsmen could not capitalize on the good start and were perhaps 15-20 runs short in the end, considering the good batting wicket.

This is the sixth loss for Sylhet from seven games.

Shahidul Islam took two wickets for Khulna and conceded 26 runs in his four overs.



Fletcher c Mushfiq b Frylinck    37    24

Rubel c Mushfiq b Shahidul     39    44

Charles c Shanto b Frylinck    17    12

Rutherford not out        26    20

Mithun c Miraz b Shahidul     0    2

Mosaddek not out        23    18    

Extras (lb 3, w 12)        15 

Total (20 Overs)            157/4 

Fall Of Wickets

1-62 (Fletcher), 2-101 (Charles), 3-103 (Rubel), 4-104 (Mithun)


Amir 4-0-17-0, Frylinck 4-0-58-2, Tanvir 4-0-23-0, Shafiul 4-0-30-0, Shahidul 4-0-26-2


Shanto c Nayeem b Ebadat         41    31

Miraz not out                87    62

Rossouw c (Naveen) b Rutherford    15    11

Mushfiq not out            3    4

Extras (lb 5, nb 1, w 6)            12 

Total (17.5 Overs)            158/2 

Fall Of Wickets

1-115 (Shanto), 2-148 (Rossouw)


Santokie 2.5-0-32-0, Nayeem 3-0-31-0, Mosaddek 3-0-25-0, Ebadat 4-0-20-1, Delwar 2-0-18-0, Nazmul 2-0-18-0, Rutherford 1-0-9-1

Khulna Tigers won by eight wickets 

MoM: Mehedi Hasan Miraz (KT)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail