• Monday, Aug 15, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Magnificent Shanto smashes ton in Khulna victory

  • Published at 11:09 pm January 11th, 2020
Khulna Tigers’ Nazmul Hossain Shanto plays a shot during their BBPL match against Dhaka Platoon in Mirpur Saturday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Khulna will face Rajshahi Royals in the qualifiers Monday at the same venue

Khulna Tigers opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto smashed a magnificent century to take his side to victory against Dhaka Platoon in the last game of the league phase of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League Twenty20 Saturday.

With this win, Khulna moved to No 1 in the points table. 

They will face Rajshahi Royals in the qualifiers Monday at the same venue.

After Khulna won the toss and elected to field, Dhaka posted 205/4 despite the loss of some early wickets. 

Platoon lost their third wicket when the score was just 35 after 5.4 overs.

Tamim Iqbal (one), Anamul Haque (10) and Jaker Ali (14) had all gone back to pavilion, but Dhaka made a brilliant comeback as opener Mominul Haque and Mahedi Hasan formed a splendid 153-run partnership off just 80 deliveries. 

Dhaka’s Mominul Haque plays a shot Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

It was the highest fourth wicket partnership in BPL history.  

Mominul scored a brilliant 91 off 59 deliveries, with seven fours and four sixes. 

He missed out on his century when he got out in the 19th over.

Mahedi was brilliant too at the other end, as he was unbeaten on 68 off 36 deliveries with three fours and five sixes.

However, Shanto struck a brilliant unbeaten 115 off just 57 balls to take Khulna to an eight-wicket victory. 

He received good support from opening partner Mehedi Hasan Miraz (45 off 25 balls), while Mushfiqur Rahim hit 18 off 10 balls in a late cameo.



Tamim c Rossouw b Frylinck    1    5

Mominul c Frylinck b Amir    91    59

Anamul c Mushfiq b Frylinck    10    10

Jaker c & b Shafiul         14    7

Mahedi not out            68    36

Perera not out            6    3

Extras (lb 5, w 10)        15

Total (20 Overs)         205/4

Fall Of Wickets

1-1 (Tamim), 2-13 (Anamul), 3-35 (Jaker), 4-188 (Mominul)    


Amir 4-0-35-1, Frylinck 4-0-35-2, Shahidul 3-0-37-0, Shafiul 4-0-50-1, Miraz 2-0-22-0, Aminul 3-0-21-0


Shanto not out            115    57

Miraz b Mahedi            45    25

Rossouw c sub (Ariful) b Shadab23    17

Mushfiq not out        18    10

Extras (w 6)            6

Total (18.1 overs)        207/2

Fall Of Wickets

1-70 (Miraz), 2-151 (Rossouw)


Mahedi 4-0-39-1, Mashrafe 3-0-26-0, Faheem 3-0-47-0, Hasan 3.1-0-43-0, Shadab 4-0-32-1, Perera 1-0-20-0

Khulna Tigers won by eight wickets    

MoM: Nazmul Hossain Shanto (KT)