• Sunday, Sep 25, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Majestic Amir sinks Royals

  • Published at 05:02 pm January 13th, 2020
Khulna Tigers' Mohammad Amir bowls against Rajshahi Royals during their BBPL match at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium Monday Dhaka Tribune

Defending 158/3, Pakistani bowler Amir got rid of Rajshahi’s in-form opener Liton Das with his second ball. He ended his three-over spell with four wickets conceeding just 12 runs

Mohammad Amir bowled a scintillating record-breaking spell in the first qualifier of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League T20 to help Khulna Tigers reach the final.

The Khulna Tigers beat Rajshahi Royals by 27 runs at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium Monday.

Defending 158/3, Pakistani bowler Amir got rid of Rajshahi’s in-form opener Liton Das with his second ball. He ended his three-over spell with four wickets conceeding just 12 runs. 

Amir got rid of other in-form opener Afif Hossain before dismissing Alok Kapali and the dangerous Andre Russell for ducks, while Robbie Frylinck got rid of Ravi Bopra to reduce Rajshahi to 23-5.

Amir’s national team compatriot Shoaib Malik tried to make an impossible comeback from that position, but the 27-year old paceman got him out as well after Malik had scored a swashbuckling 80 off just 50 balls.

Amir finished with a majestic 6/17, the first time ever a bowler picking up six wickets in an innings in the history of Bangladesh Premier League. 

Earlier, after losing the toss, Tigers’ opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto, who scored a century in their last match, remained not out on 78 off just 57 balls to help his side to a score that eventually proved to be match-winning. 

1st Qualifier, KTvRR


Shanto not out            78    57

Miraz c Kapali b Irfan        8    8

Rossouw c Rabbi b Irfan        0    4

Shamsur c Russell b Bopara    32    31

Mushfiqur retired hurt        21    16

Najibullah not out        12    5

Extras  (b 2, nb 1, w 4)         7

TOTAL (3 Wickets, 20 Overs)     158

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Mehidy), 2-15 (Rossouw), 3-93 (Shamsur), 3-135* (Mushfiqur, retired not out )


Irfan 4-1-13-2, Jayed 2-0-21-0, Malik 3-1-23-0, Russell 4-0-33-0, Rabbi 2-0-20-0, Taijul 2-0-22-0, Bopara 3-0-24-1, 


Liton b Amir            2    3

Afif c Mushfiqur b Amir        11    10

Malik c sub (Gurbaz) b Amir    80    50

Kapali c Shamsur b Amir        0    3

Bopara c Rossouw b Frylinck    1    6

Russell c Rossouw b Amir    0    5

Farhad c Shanto b Shahidul     3    7

Taijul c Frylinck b Amir        12    23

Rabbi not out            11    6

Jayed st Mushfiqur b Miraz    7    5

Irfan b Miraz            0    2

Extras (b 1, lb 1, w 2)         4

TOTAL (All Out, 20 Overs)     131

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Liton), 2-22 (Afif), 3-22 (Alok), 4-23 (Bopara), 5-23 (Russell), 6-33 (Farhad), 7-107 (Taijul),  8-111 (Malik),  9-131 (Jayed), 10-131 (Irfan)


Amir 4-0-17-6, Frylinck 4-1-29-1, Shafiul Islam 4-0-36-0, Shahidul 4-0-15-1, Aminul 3-0-26-0, Miraz 1-0-6-2

Tigers won by 27 runs

MoM: Mohammad Amir (KT)

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail