• Saturday, May 21, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Young Tigers become World Champions

  • Published at 04:10 pm February 9th, 2020
Bangladesh U-19 cricket team celebrate winning the U-19 World Cup in South Africa in February this year AFP

With the win, Bangladesh have broken a long string of heartbreaks in tournament finals

An ice-cold performance from captain Akbar Ali dragged the Bangladesh U-19 cricket team to a historic first U-19 World Cup, as they beat India U-19 in the final of the 2020 edition at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom Sunday. 

With the win, Bangladesh have broken a long string of heartbreaks in tournament finals.

Following the victory, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina issued a message of congratulation for the young Tigers.

Chasing 178 runs, play was interrupted by rain with Bangladesh just 15 away from their major multi-nation cricket title, with 54 balls and three wickets in hand. 

The action resumed after a 10-minute break with a revised target of 170 in 46 overs for Bangladesh – just seven more required in 30 balls.

The final runs came from the bat of Rakibul Hasan.

He finished unbeaten on nine off 25 as the Bangladesh team management and fans erupted into wild celebrations. 

With emotions running high, there was a short altercation between the players of the opposing teams, but it did not escalate as match and team officials took charge.

Captain Akbar found himself under the limelight after the Bangladesh top-order collapsed under pressure from Indian leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi. 

The wicketkeeper-batsman stonewalled the Indian attack as he added a championship winning 43 not out in 77 balls.

Following a superlative effort by the bowling unit, Bangladesh had a decent start to the chase with openers Tanzid Hasan and Parvez Hossain Emon posting 50 runs in 8.5 overs before Tanzid was dismissed on 17 by Bishnoi. 

Emon also walked off the pitch with Tanzid, troubled by cramp.


The Player of the Match is the Bangladesh captain, Akbar Ali!#U19CWC | #INDvBAN | #FutureStars pic.twitter.com/9dmaz5ydFv

— Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) February 9, 2020

Bangladesh then fell deeper into trouble as Bishnoi removed three more batsmen in quick succession.

Emon, however, returned to action to play a vital role as he added 47 to the tally while limping.   

Bangladesh earlier displayed a brilliant effort with the ball after the side opted to field first after winning the toss.

The decision by captain Akbar was worth it as the Bangladesh bowling unit tore through the Indian batting and restricted them to just 177. 

In one spell, seven Indian batters were dismissed for just 21 runs. 

Bangladesh in the first seven overs gave only nine runs as India openers were caught up inside a box.

Bangladesh bowlers took advantage of the early momentum and by the end it was pacers Shariful Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib who took the majority of the limelight. 

Accurate lines bowled by the seamers had the India batsmen in trouble and Bangladesh held to that throughout the innings. 

Only two Bangladesh bowlers gave more than 30 runs with right-arm pacer Avishek Das giving the most - 40 in nine overs but he had balanced that with three wickets to his name. 

Left-arm pacer Shariful gave away 31 runs in his stipulated 10 overs for two wickets while right-arm pacer Sakib bagged two scalps giving away just 28 runs in 8.2 overs.   

Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 88 off 121 involving eight boundaries and a six was the gas to India innings that had only three batters scoring in double digit.


INDIA U19 INNINGS        R    B

Jaiswal c Tamim b Shariful     88    121

Saxena c Joy b Avishek         2    17

Tilak c Shoriful b Sakib        38    65

Garg c Tamim b Rakibul         7    9

Jurel run out (Shamim/Akbar)    22    38

Veer lbw b Shariful         0    1

Ankolekar b Avishek         3    7

Bishnoi run out (Shariful)    2    6

Mishra c Shoriful b Sakib    3    8

Tyagi c Akbar b Avishek         0    5

Akash not out            1    7

Extras (lb 1, w 10)        11 

Total (47.2 Overs)        177 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-9 (Saxena), 2-103 (Tilak), 3-114 (Garg), 4-156 (Jaiswal), 5-156 (Veer), 6-168 (Jurel), 7-170 (Bishnoi), 8-170 (Ankolekar), 9-172 (Tyagi), 10-177 (Mishra)


Shariful 10-1-31-2, Sakib 8.2-2-28-2, Avishek 9-0-40-3, Shamim 6-0-36-0, Rakibul 10-1-29-1, Towhid 4-0-12-0


Emon c Akash b Jaiswal        47    79

Tanzid c Tyagi b Bishnoi        17    25

Joy b Bishnoi            8    12

Towhid lbw b Bishnoi        0    2

Shahadat st Jurel b Bishnoi    1    10

Akbar not out            43    77

Shamim c Jaiswal b Mishra    7    18

Avishek c Tyagi b Mishra    5    7

Rakibul not out            9    25

Extras (b 8, lb 4, nb 2, w 19)    33 

Total (42.1 Overs)        170/7 

Fall Of Wickets

1-50 (Tanzid), 2-62 (Joy), 2-62* (Emon), 3-62 (Towhid), 4-65 (Shahadat), 5-85 (Shamim), 6-102 (Avishek), 7-143 (Emon)


Tyagi 10-2-33-0, Mishra 7-0-25-2, Akash 8-1-33-0, Bishnoi 10-3-30-4, Ankolekar 4.1-0-22-0, Jaiswal 3-0-15-1

Bangladesh U-19 won by three wickets

MoM: Akbar Ali

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail