• Monday, Dec 05, 2022
  • Last Update : 10:24 am

Abahani win again brushing off MSC debacle

  • Published at 01:47 pm June 13th, 2021
Abahani Limited's Munim Shahriar plays a shot during their Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League match on Sunday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium BCB

Gazi Group of Cricketers and Brothers Union won their respective matches

Abahani Limited returned to winning ways by beating Prime Bank while Gazi Group of Cricketers and Brothers Union won their respective matches of Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League T20 on Sunday. 

Prime Bank v Abahani

After the Mohammedan setback a couple days ago, Abhani picked a 30-run win (D/L method) against Prime Bank at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. Abahani’r sixth victory in the tournament was inspired by opener Munim Shahriar’s unbeaten 50-ball 92 laced with nine boundaries and five over boundaries. The effort from the right-handed batsman saw Abahani post 183 runs on the board after 20 overs losing three wickets. Prime Bank pacer Shoriful Islam picked two wickets.

Prime Bank chase got interrupted in the 16th over due to rain. When the game resumed, a revised target was set and it looked tough as they needed another 57 runs in three overs with six wickets in hand. At the end of 19 overs Prime Bank were able to put 143 on the board losing six wickets. The defeat saw Prime Bank captain and opener Tamim Iqbal’s 41-ball 55 in vain while Mohammad Mithun’s 34 runs off could only reduce the defeat margin. Tanjib Hasan Sakib and Aminul Islam Biplob picked two wickets apiece for Abahani.

Both Prime Bank and Abahani have six wins each in eight games. 

Also Read: Shakib-less MSC, Sk Jamal, Doleshwar win     


Khelaghar v Gazi Group

Captain Mahmudullah’s unbeaten half century helped Gazi Group Cricketers achieve a five-wicket win against Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity at BKSP Ground 4.

Chasing 139 runs, Gazi Group got off to a shaky start losing both openers Mahedi Hasan and Soumya Sarkar for ducks inside the second over. The loss however, got recovered as Mominul Haque and Yasir Ali Chowdhury added 22 and 24 runs respectively to the board while Mahmudullah remained till the end scoring 48-ball 58 with three boundaries and two over boundaries to finish the chase inside the 19th over. Khelghar spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz picked up two wickets.

Earlier, Masum Khan’s 59-run innings propelled Khelaghar to 138 runs losing eight wickets in 20 overs. Masum’s 37-ball innings involved five boundaries and four over boundaries before perishing to a run out in the last ball of the innings. Mominul bagged two wickets.

With the win Gazi Group moved to the sixth position in the table with five wins in eight matches while Khelaghar are at seven with four wins.

 Shinepukur v Brothers Union

Brothers Union registered a one-run win (D/L method) against Shinepukur Cricket Club at BKSP Ground 3.

Chasing 151 runs, Brothers were on 132 for 4 after 18 overs when rain poured in the venue at Savar. The game did not resume due to the wet outfield and based on the D/L method the match officials declared Brothers as winner. Opener Mizanur Rahman finished with colors remaining unbeaten on 56-ball 79 with 10 boundaries and two over boundaries while Zahiduzzaman Khan also remained not out at 25 on the other. Left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam picked up three wickets conceding 18 runs in two overs for Shinepukur.

Earlier, Towhid Hridoy and opener Sabbir Hossain both added 44 runs each to the board to push Shinepukur total to 150 losing three wickets in 20 overs. Shinepukur captain Towhid remained not out facing 32 balls.       

Brothers with four wins in eight games are at number seven in the table while Shinepukur are struggling at the second last place with two wins in the competition so far.  


Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail