• Saturday, Jul 02, 2022
  • Last Update : 04:24 pm

Tigers reach Zimbabwe for month-long tour

  • Published at 12:58 pm June 30th, 2021
tigers at Zimbabwe

Bangladesh are touring the African nation for the first time in eight years, and will start the bilateral series against the hosts in the lone Test in Harare starting next Wednesday

The Bangladesh Test squad reached Harare Wednesday following a 21-hour long journey.

Bangladesh are touring the African nation for the first time in eight years, and will start the bilateral series against the hosts in the lone Test at Harare Sports Club starting next Wednesday.

Two players of the squad, all-rounder Shakib al Hasan and batsman Shadman Islam, travelled separately and will join the team in Harare.

Newly appointed coaching staff, spin consultant Rangana Herath joined the team in transit in Doha, while batting coach Ashwell Prince met the touring party during the layover in Johannesburg.

Bangladesh team after reaching the hotel in Harare underwent Covid-19 test and upon negative results and a day’s rest will be allowed to use the training facilities HSC from Friday.

Also Read: ICC: T20 World Cup moved to UAE and Oman

The tourists are scheduled to a play a two-day warm-up game Saturday and Sunday.

Zimbabwe Cricket earlier this month announced that the series against Bangladesh will be played behind closed doors.

ZC had also confirmed that the Sports and Recreation Commission of the country has granted permission to host Bangladesh in July, despite surge in Covid-19 cases in the country.

Bangladesh in the month-long tour will also play a three-match ODI series, which is part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

The tour also comprises three T20s.

Ahead of the ODI series, the tourists will play a 50-over warm-up game on July 14.

The three ODIs have been pencilled in for July 16, 18 and 20 respectively, followed by the three-match T20 series, scheduled for July 23, 25 and 27 July.

Members of the Bangladesh ODI and T20 squad in Dhaka will travel to Zimbabwe on July 9.  

Bangladesh Test squad

Mominul Haque (C), Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib al Hasan, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain, Shariful Islam

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail